The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author makes an argument in favor of following the Zeta company for future constructions. They further compare the construction costs, maintenance costs and electricity costs of Alpha and Zeta buildings and concluded that Zeta has provided more profit than Alpha. The author's conclusions were made on major assumptions. When these assumptions are proved unwarranted, then their entire argument would fall apart.

First of all, the author mentions that these buildings were constructed ten years back at different regions. This implies that both the buildings are erected at different places by different companies using different resources. Even the economies experienced by the regions where these buildings were being constructed could be different. To illustrate, assume that the two regions where these buildings are erected were at Mumbai and New York. When the costs of construction for both the buildings are compared, it is obvious that it would be higher in New York due to the difference in economy and the difference of value of currency of the countries these cities reside in. Furthermore, the maintenance costs would be low in New York due to scarcity of resources and living necessities in Mumbai. Even if the construction companies are exchanged for these buildings there would be no difference in the operational costs the companies would demand. Therefore, further clarity is required on the regions these buildings are based. If they were held in the same area then author claim's could be considered to be true.

Adding to the above example, when the electricity bills of these buildings are compared, it is impossible to determine whose would be higher as it depends on the usage of electricity by the people residing in the buildings. If the building in New York has more people than the building in Mumbai, it is obvious that New York would produce more electricity bill. Furthermore the amount assigned by the nations government per watt consumption can also play a major role in determining the amount required to run the buildings with electricity. Therefore, the author's claim that the electricity consumption or costs are more in building constructed by Alpha needs more support and information about the number of people residing in these buildings and the assigned government costs for energy of those regions.

Though the author lauded the low costing of Alpha's construction for the new project, they never mentioned how these costing were measured. No decisive criteria is given for estimating the building costs through which it could be determined which company has made the best plans. Without this definite criteria any construction company could easily over demand or under demand the money required for construction. In case of under demand, it could result in an unfinished building. While in the case of over demand the company might lander the money or waste it. In either case, the need for systematic procedure to estimate the costs of construction is important which the author failed to provide.

Buildings are a necessity to run diverse companies. They provide the work place for millions of people and need to be carefully constructed. But the authors claims require more evidence and concrete information to further their conclusions. In fact, with no additional modifications or added data, it is impossible to estimate the worth of author's words and proceed with their ideas.