Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The provided topic is controversial and deals with whether creating an appealing image is more revered than the truth behind the said image in the present community or not. Indisputably, an attractive image draws more attention and provides momentary happiness. Nevertheless, the author's extreme words does not hold true in many circumstances. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with their claims.

First of all, the present generation is more receptive towards change and were active advocates of truth and equality. Compared to 18th century, reputation or the rules of the society do not determine the lifestyle of the current population. In fact, they strive to enlighten many covered up stories in the past regarding the abuse towards humans based on gender, race and religion. Youngsters are more determined to free the society from the shackles of past by uncovering the truth and taking necessary steps to prevent them from happening again. This attitude is growing more and more in the present population. They are willing to share their stories honestly without fear and are encouraging the same from other individuals too. The me too movement made by women is a great illustration of the previously mentioned statement. Many celebrities are coming forward about their own experiences which in turn led to many others to face their own struggles rather than hiding behind an attractive and problem free masks. Hence, it cannot be accepted that the contemporary society is obsessed with a false appealing image.

Adding to this, the promotion of self love and accepting the reality is more in the current era. Every platform of entertainment promotes self love and the betterment of human hood. People are encouraged to be selfish and speak their mind. People pleasing is condemned and therapy is getting universal encouraging everyone to take mental health seriously. One of the steps for these promotions is encouraging the participants to "post in social media" and acknowledge their reality in contrast with the desirable images they project in the society. This awareness is reaching every where rapidly. This procedure helped people tackle their jealousy, fear of missing out, anxiety and diminishes the idea that they cannot be accepted for who they are. People are growing more confident and forgiving towards oneself due to the many activities conducted in these self love promotions.

Furthermore, though people find it pleasing and gives them a false assurance of greatness when they project these untrue manifestations of themselves, it is often followed by insecurities and experiencing difficult time in accepting themselves. Their personality revolves around the alter ego they created and they might feel a sense of helplessness when they are too wrapped in it. This phenomenon was discovered in many children who try to look "cool" and adopt lying to achieve this "coolness". This could lead to isolation when the truth is discovered and scar the children for life. Experiencing this in their childhoods, the current parents are more accommodating to the child's needs in their fostering and are educating their children about the need of "being truthful to oneself". Therefore, the claims the author makes do not posses much weight in addressing these situations.

In conclusion, the author's statement of the contemporary society caring more about their projected attractive images than the truth of their reality cannot be taken seriously due to the above discussed points. Unless, the extreme statements are modifies or more concrete evidence stating the reasons for author's claims, the author cannot be deemed credible. In fact, adhering to these ungrounded claims would be an unfair treatment to the present generation which has seen more strides in term of humanity than any other generation.