Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A government is a system that administers the nation and introduce many innovations and policies according to the needs of its people and political leaders master these systems. Indisputably, the opinions of the public and their requirements should be the prime concern around which the government should be built upon. Nevertheless, the leaders should be allowed to have definite principles they adhere to, no matter the circumstances. This attribute deems them worthy and meticulous. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the author.

First of all, people are whimsical creatures who are influenced very easily by numerous factors. Most of their protests are extremely selfish and do not include the burdens faced by the other side. To illustrate, the legalized gay marriage rights was met with a huge resistance by many. These protestors argued that such a marriage is impure and is not natural, degrading and hurting many individuals in this process. If the government were to heed to the demands of the public at that time it would have brought upon a disaster and continuation of unfair treatment of the minorities. Sometimes to bring good to the world, it is better to do the right thing rather than the most demanded thing as showcased in the above example.

Adding to this, the public or citizens of the nation do not have enough information to make protests or demands for certain decisions by the government. Assume a child who eats apples exclusively and nothing else. If this child was encouraged to give their opinion about the taste of grapes without consuming them, no matter their response, it is not valid as the opinion is based on their imagination rather than substantive evidence. Similarly, acknowledging the claims of the public, no matter how popular they are, in subjects they are not completely educated in the decision making of political leaders is a disadvantage to the nation.

Furthermore, an individual is competitive in nature. With the world evolving towards better speed and efficiency, the humans left to fight for their place to fit in the changing world. This leads to hostility and aggressiveness in individual when encountered with their rivals or individuals who are doing better than them. They lack the ability to maintain disinterestedness while making laws or policies that is needed to ensure good governance. Assume that there are two religions of a nation and they are at war with each other. If the government is leaning towards any of the sides presented by the religions in the nation, the other religion would get absolutely destroyed. Hence, the government or the political leaders should strive to make peace within its public when encountered with disparities but not join and pick a side to appease the majority. They should master the art remaining impartial no matter the claims of the public and remain constant in their stand for good.

With the world constantly changing, many would argue that a leader who can adapt to these whimsical nature of the nation and appease the public is better suited for betterment. But, a person who can change their colors easily also lacks the credibility of truthfulness and id more prone to corruption and influences. People would be more assured in the hands of a person who has definite values they adhere to and follow rather than a person with no values or moral code they indulge themselves with. Unless, the author modifies their extreme claims or adds additional statements that bolster their statement, their words on the matter of nature of the political leaders cannot be taken seriously. In fact, believing them would be an dishonor to many ethical and stoic leaders who are revered to this day by the world.