Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities around the world always try to come up with new innovations to attract new students and to better the lives of those who are already attached to the universities. This might come in the form of policies or updating the current syllabus or adding new and better faculties and so on. It is undeniable that most universities while implementing these new changes are always striving towards a better student life though most times they cannot fathom the results of these major decisions

Universities mandating studying courses outside the students own major is an effective policy to make sure the students are well versed in all domains. In most universities students are offered electives from other majors from their own requests to quench their desire to explore the knowledge of areas different from their own majors. This allows the students to build up their resume and give them a boost in the interviews where they can flout their diversity in education.

Yet making this proposal a mandatory requirement strips the students of their free will. Many might feel this requirement a hinderance and waste of time. There could be students who are solely devoted to their majors and want to pursue even further in their fields through electives or other options which is scotched by this policy. This could end up building a lot of resentment in students as their choices are not validated by the Universities.

Maths, social, science and so on, are subjects that are taught to students regardless of their background, origin and other factors of diversity in schools. These subjects are very different from each other and yet they are entrenched in the curriculum of the schools in almost all countires as they provide the basic knowledege and provides the sence of equality in education for all the students. Similarly, Universities demanding their students to study subjects outside their major that are completely helpful to them in career or life is commendable. Adding to this many students who went through the rigorous process of selection to get into a university end up regreting their choices of major selection at the end of a year. For people like these, this innovation could be breath of fresh air where they are given the oppurtunity to study what they might enjoy.

Though this raises the question for universities that on what grounds where these mandatory majors selected or on what grounds of betterment was this policy based on. Students who are in universities are adults whose requirements for better career and future vary greatly from one to another unlike in school where they are malleable and needs the guidance of organizations. These adults are capable of making their own choices regarding their majors and should endure the consequences of these choices. Students who do not regret their choices of major have gone through the identical process of selction and it would unfair to these crowd when their hardwork is reaped by others without any effort.

Satisfying all the students in a University is a task that is not possible. And yet adopting policies that are appreciated by the majority enhances the relationship between universities and its students. Respecting the choices of its students and validating their struggles is a good of ensuring this relationship. Leaving the choice of selection to the students rather than mandating and shackleing them to more rules is more beneficial than brute implementation of the above claim.