Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is a need in the life of every individual and plays an important role in determining the success they might encounter in their lives. Indisputably, any kind of restriction or barricades in the process of education can be shackling and limits one to meet a major disadvantage. Nevertheless, some sense of formal education is always welcomed everywhere for a sense of better education and understanding of the subject. Thus, it not surprising to disagree with the author for the following three reasons.

First of all, having a formal education can reduce the stress placed upon students and make them more confident when burdened with examinations. To illustrate, consider a class with a subject that follows strict class room based learning and never encourage any external data to interfere. The same class is taught another subject which is completely opposite to the previously stated subject and allows the students to explore and promotes a teaching that is free and independent. But, when the students were given tests on both these subjects, the students would most likely to ace the first one where they know what will come and to expect compared to the second, where they do not know the definite structure or the type answers expected. Consequently, students lose their interest in the second subject and might wish for the same pattern as the first subject for better marks and learning.

Adding to this, the formal education places a lot of responsibility upon teachers and students need to heavily depend on their lecturers for guidance in their subjects. This improves the relationship between between the mentor and the students and promotes a smoother occurrence of semester or year. Students are no longer bonded to their techniques of "self-study" where they are completely independent of the lectures given by the teachers but share their workloads with their teachers. This provides a sense of security to students as they are provided with every resource, article, and books needed to qualify the classes by the professors themselves rather than surfing and struggling alone without a proper guidance.

Furthermore, many universities and schools mandate particular courses or teach in the restriction of particular information in every subject. This restriction in data taught to students helps them filter out unnecessary information they would have no use in the future. For example, many universities have stopped their extra practices in basic calculations and allowed their students to bring calculators to the class thus adopting to the new generational technology. Also, rather than teaching the outmoded syllabus sanctioned by the nation, many schools are making more room for contemporary subjects that would bolster the students stance or acceptance in their selected major fields and other upcoming technologies which would be more beneficial to the students. From the above illustration, the consequences of cutting out any unnecessary data that does not provide for the betterment students is proved to be good and needed in this competitive world.

Many might claim that in an unrestricted education students are bound to learn more and are far more likely to be successful. But what they fail to understand is that, though the education or the material is restricted in the formal education, the students would be thorough and highly clear with whatever they are taught in this system. Most times, this type of education covers every speck of data and knowledge that a student would need for a successful career. Unless, more facts are added in support to the claims made by the author, they cannot be taken seriously. In fact acknowledging these statements would be a dishonor to many students who are thriving currently as a result of this system of education.