All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether parents should be required to volunteer time at schools or not. Indisputably, it is a noble action that could educate children about the benefits and need for volunteering in the society from a young age. Nevertheless, the act of volunteering by parents at their children schools has more drawbacks than benefits. Adding to this, it is not the only method of teaching children about the welfare of volunteering. Thus, It is not unexpected that there is general disagreement regarding the mandatory volunteering of parents in schools.

First of all, I would like to point out that the parents are busy creatures. They run a hectic life with barely any time to spare. This lack of time could be required for their survival to provide with enough earnings to maintain their household. To illustrate, consider a single mother who is working at a restaurant as a waitress from 9 AM to 5 PM. She barely has any time to sleep and fulfil her needs and adding mandatory volunteering would be burdensome. Similarly, consider parents who are doctors. Their work require them to be available at ungodly hours and answer for every emergency they are contacted with. Asking them to spend their time volunteering by cancelling their appointments could be a loss to society. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the volunteering program was established with no thorough research.

Furthermore, many people argue that volunteering could be a way to bond the children and parents despite their schedules. But, the nature of the volunteering is unknown. The volunteer might be required to clean the school grounds or teach or help with the organization or participate in school activities like debates, discussions and speeches. In all these circumstances there are no instances that would allow the parents to bond with their children. Rather than mandating volunteering and trying to control the free time possessed by the parents, it is advisable to let them approach and spend their time with their children in a way that is deemed comfortable by them.

Admittedly, it is true that parents could form better bond with schools in this way and keep a closer eye on the systematic running of the school. Parents complain that their children never share their school activities or their day to day lifestyle with them. By volunteering, they could observe their children comportment at a safer distance. But this might also distance the children even further as they could claim this action to be a breach of trust. Parenting is patient job where it is required to let them children walk to their parents at their own pace and conditions. This form of forced entry to know about their lives could be interpreted as violation of their privacy and result in pushing them even farther into their shells.

In conclusion, although volunteering is a great activity that should be encouraged, it is best to limit it for other areas. Unless proper guidance is published and necessary consolations are provided, the negative consequences of volunteering by parents in schools cannot be refuted. In fact, abandoning the idea would be a better choice for betterment of both parents and children.