The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is made by the manager of a restaurant which replaced its butter with margarine. The author claims that the change had received no impact and goes on to cite some instances that support his claims. He mentions surveys that showed little to no displeasure among people regarding the change administered. Though the argument might look purposeful and stable at first glance, it soon becomes clear that it is based on assumptions that are yet proved to be warranted.

The author mentions that only 2 percent of the customers have filled complaints regarding the change the restaurant has adopted. No information is available whether these two percent of people are taken in a span of day or a month or year. Assume that it rains only 5 times in a year consequently. If a scale is taken for rain in a span of year, the number is quite small. But when the scale is reduced to a month and then later to a week this scale or percentage of days when it rained keeps increasing. Hence it is important to know the time span the surveys are taken across for better judgement. Here, it is assumed the survey that states that average of 98 people out of 100 are happy id true without any further details or questioning.

Adding to this, the author does not mention whether these 2 percent consist of regulars that constantly appear at the restaurant or new comers. Consider when there is a huge explosion of tourists on the day or time span the survey was taken. With the new comers dominating the regulars by huge amounts the survey cannot be held accountable as the change can only be noticed by the regulars. During these cases these 2 percent might include all the regulars who visit the restaurant and yet the numbers could turn up really small and insignificant. The assumption that 2 percent of the customers with no background data on their identity could determine the effect of the changes introduced by the restaurant is not bolstered properly.

Building on the above discussion, the nature of these complaints have not been made clear either. The author does not mention the criteria they used to separate the complaints that are based on the change in butter and other factors. In fact, no mention of complaints other than those 2 percent against the change in butter are made in the argument. The author stated that the server noted no visible change in the customers when offered with margarine instead of butter. It is possible that these customers rather than showcasing their displeasure, complained about the bad service that is provided to them. Complaints regarding change in taste of food could also have been made which might not directly point towards the butter change that occurred when not analyzed properly.

Continuing, It does not specify how many number of people made such request or whether they were paying attention to their food. Assume that only a single man ordered butter in the timeline this observation was noted and this man has failed to notice the difference. Equating the experience encountered by a single man to the entire customers that have visited in this timeline is not advisable.

Taking all the above-mentioned discussions into account, it is clear that the argument is based on more assumptions than clear evidence. More data is required to make reasonable conclusions and support the claims made by the business manager. Also it is suggested to acquire more concrete evidence to warrant these assumptions which would otherwise collapse the argument made.