Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This is a controversial topic of whether identification and nurturing of talents in children from young age is beneficial or not. Indisputably, every child is special in their own way and posses their own individual characteristics that sets them apart from others. Nevertheless, there is no significant proof that supports the idea that fostering the talents in children from nascent stages is helpful or even possible. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the authors claim without any additional statements that support his idea.

First of all, it is very difficult to pin point a talent in a child. To illustrate, assume a child who has a hidden affinity towards piano playing. But he lives in an area where finding musical instruments is very hard. Consequently, he cannot display his talents unless encountered with unusual circumstances. Discovering his talents without visualizing them or giving him a chance to show is impossible. Therefore, identification of abilities in children at early stages without the needed resources or opportunities to show off his skills is difficult.

Continuing from the above example, imagine the same boy has participated in a cricket tournament and scored the highest in first match and failed the next two consecutive matches. It is very easy to confuse his exceptional display in the first match as his hidden talent rather then beginners luck. The boy could be misdiagnosed about his specialty. He could be encouraged to foster a talent he does not even have to begin with. Luck can easily be misinterpreted as a skill in children and this misunderstanding could lead to major disasters in their future.

Additionally, many prodigies and geniuses we find in our world are not born with their peculiar minds or virtuoso. It is a result of years of hard work and dedication they displayed towards their ambition. This decision of ambition requires time and observation. Assume a child who observed his father play a piano for years and decided to dedicate his life towards this art as he grew up. In this case, the child's surroundings influenced his goal. Furthermore, imagine a child who never had a dream and entered a college adhering to his parent's wishes. But upon arrival he found his passion towards rocket science and thrived in it. Every human leads their life in their own pace and identify their talents on their own. JK Rowling wrote her books in her thirties and show cased her talents in forties. The author of game of thrones made his debut in in his 50s. There are many sports players in the world who were given late start but still managed to maintain the same pace as those with an early start. These examples prove that nurturing from the beginning provides no advantage in real life. Forcing children to settle for a decision they made in their childhood is unfair to the skills they might display in their future. They might discover more and more skills in themselves with passing time and find their own passions and desires when they are ready.

In conclusion, it is not possible to identify the talents a child might posses or guarantee their interest in their chosen fields through out their lives. Admittedly the authors claim look noble with an intention of betterment of children, but it has the opposite effect. Unless more facts are added to the authors statements or more concrete evidence is given bolstering his claims, it is not expected to accept his words in this matter. In fact, encouraging parents to look and train the affinities displayed by their children in their childhood eradicates the sense of freedom of choice for the child and makes them miserable with helplessness.