The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument claims that the profits of stores are more ascended when they are located in areas with people who are leading a healthy and active lives. This claim is backed by the observations made in Plainsville where the sales have skyrocketed. Deriving from these observations, plans have been made to establish more stores in salubrious areas without any concrete evidences backing these observations nor supporting the plans made. These missing blanks are discussed below.

The author mentions profits are more in areas where people are interested in leading healthy lives than areas where they are not. But they fail to explain the basis on which these profits are determined. For example consider two stores. Assume that one store has sold 50 pair of shoes in one day and the other store sold 49 shoes. When compared it is easy to point out which store has more profit than the other. But when it is viewed in larger scale this difference in sales is not that significant. Similarly, no concrete analysis is provided on comparing the profits of the stores in different areas that shows clear inequality of sales in the stores.

Adding to this, the author mentions that the schools in Plainsville has made it mandatory for children to attend a program called "Fitness for Life". When something is made compulsory by the school authorities it is expected to see children taking it seriously whether they are willing or not. Hence it is no surprise that more and more children buying sports equipment. But this also means that the reason for such high sales is not because of the location of the store but rather the policies of schools in that area. This could counter attack the claim that sales would increase when the location is shifted to a health prone zone.

Furthermore, the argument states that the health club was closed down for more than half a decade. And yet it is suddenly running with more and more people joining the club. No reasons are mentioned that would explain the sudden operation of the health club. Maybe the authorities decided to fund this club or people wanted to flaunt their health club membership to other town residents or the health club founder came up with new strategies to attract more members and restart the club. No matter the reason, the sudden increase in sales of sports equipment is clearly dependent on the re-opening of the health club and the reasons for such sudden inclination of people towards healthy lifestyle is unknown too.

From the above discussion, it is clear that without more information and clear surveys it is impossible to conclude that the stores sales are proportional to individuals with healthy lifestyle in that area. The plan to establish more stores in areas concentrated with health obsessive people needs more decisive evidence and pristine statements from the store managers from all stores for clear sales analysis.