The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is made by the owner of Movies Galore and he claims that in order to tackle the decline in profits it is important to reduce the expenses of operation of these rental stores. He further elaborated his solution by giving an example of a store that reduced its expenses by reduced timings and getting rid of stocks. He explains need for maintaining the reputation the stores have gained for amazing deals and dismissing the idea of raised prices. Though it might seem a viable argument in first read, it soon becomes clear that his solutions are supported by mere assumptions rather than detailed analysis or required data.

The basis for the decline in profits is not stated. The decline could be the result of people losing interest in rental stores and inclining towards OTT platforms like Netflix, Amazon and Hulu to watch movies or due to the lack of transportation available to drive to these rental stores. It could be anything. Also no clear reason is stated as to why the reduction in operating expenses is voted to be the optimum solution to stop the declining profits. It is assumed to be the best solution with no convincing evidence.

Adding to these, the memorandum mentions that a store was closed earlier than before. This could be a potential way of reducing the costs in these stores or completely unnecessary action. Consider that the time these stores are operating at reduced hours are winters and employees refused to work at such harsh conditions and the number of customers reduced too. With no employees and maintenance required the costs of operation are bound to reduce despite the working hours. The claim of reduced hours saving money spent on operation of stores is based on the assumption that the costs are directly proportional to the number of hours the store is open and the argument states nothing to validate this assumption.

The author also mentions that the elimination of stock with movies that are released more than five years ago helped deflate the budget of running the stores. Though it could be true no necessary information is provided that links these stocks to the money required to running the stores. It could even be possible that these eliminated stocks share no relationship with budget of the stores and played no role in its deflation. Unless provided concrete evidence this assumption of stocks elimination effecting the operation costs of a store are not enough to warrant the argument given.

From the above stated discussion, it is clear that the argument posed in the memorandum is filled with assumptions with no needed evidence or proof that could support the solution concluded to reduce the costs of the stores for running. More information and analysis is required to arrive at a more strong and reasonable solution. It is important to back these solutions with sturdy bolsters to prevent them from failure.