The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, the recommendation is to reduce operating costs at Movie Galore's 10 video rental stores to reverse the recent decline in profits. Evidence of the changes at the downtown Marston store and their positive impact on reducing operational costs has been highlighted. I find the argument as provided weak and find that there are atleast three essential questions that must be answered before it can be evaluated effectively.

The first question is, if it is possible to increase the rental prices in some situations to improve profits and maintain the famous reputation for great bargains? Perhaps, the cost on the latest and most in-demand movies could be increased as people would be more inclined to pay for those. Possibly, increasing costs of individual rentals and offering discounts on combinations could also help achieve the same goal. If either of these could possibly help increase the profit while maintaining the reputation, it would severely weaken the argument that reducing operational overhead is the only way ahead.

The second questions is, if all stores can even implement the kind of changes that were made at the downtown Marston store? Maybe, the store in a different town sees most of its footfall between 6-9 PM and thus closing earlier would actually be more detrimental to their business than just continuing with the current operation costs. It could also be that one of the stores is famous for having an excellent collection of older classics, and if they eliminated this stock to only keep movies that were released less than 5 years ago they end up losing customers and facing even more loss. If either of these points stands true, the argument that making these changes would actually reduce operating expenses would lose a lot of weight.

The third question is, what guarantee is there that this reduction in operational expenses would reverse the recent decline in profits? It could be that the operational expenses are actually a really small fraction of the business expenses of Movies Galore and reducing these has negligible impact on the earnings of the business. Possibly, the decline in profits was too much and even this reduction in operational expenses would not be be enough to be able to reverse its impact. If either of these stand true, it would make the arguments provided for this recommendation lose a lot of water.

To conclude, the recommendation and the arguments provided for it, as they stand are quite flawed. If the answers to the three questions raised could be provided, it would be possible to analyse the recommendation more effectively and decide if it would likely have the predicted result.