Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Human beings have always loved discourse and discussion, from the time of Greek philosophers to present-day Twitter. In a discussion, it is bound to happen that some people hold differing viewpoints and thus, argue in favour of their beliefs. These arguments can be strong or weak, and the results of the debate reveal their strength. I mostly agree with the claim that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with the opposite viewpoint for the stated reason that the value of an idea is discovered only on being forced to defend an idea against contrasting opinions. Moreover, I think there are more reasons to support this claim, which I will bring up in this essay. However, I do not think this test can be applied to all situations universally, and will be discussing that point as well.

It is true that the ultimate test for any argument is its ability to convince someone who holds the opposite opinion. When one is forced to defend an argument against someone’s opposite perspective, the argument has to be picked apart, layer by layer. Each layer reveals another merit or demerit for the idea being presented; a strong argument having more of the former, a weaker one more of the latter. Only a strong argument can withstand such scrutiny and convince the contrarian contesters, a flimsy one would fall apart. For example, in the United States, in every presidential election, a televised debate occurs between the top two contenders over a variety of topics of importance to the nation. Naturally, each argument is picked apart by the respective opponent and the winner is considered to be the candidate who can convince his rival to agree to his point, i.e., the one with the stronger arguments. It has been observed that as a general pattern, the candidate who wins the presidential debate also ends up winning the election, as they are able to convince not only the opposite contender but also their naysayers in the general public of their platform and beliefs.

On the other hand, this test cannot be applied to all arguments on a universal basis. In some situations, even in the face of the strongest of arguments, some dogmatic people choose to stand by their own beliefs in such a thick-headed manner that no power in the world can change their opinions. For example, the Flat Earth movement still has supporters in 2022, in spite of the overwhelming amount of evidence of the Earth clearly being round since centuries, including but not limited to, photographs and videos of the planet and solar system, experiments to prove the Earth’s curvature being performed from Copernicus’ time and the fact that nearly 200 people have visited Space to date and said that they have witnessed the round Earth with their own very eyes. This does not mean that the arguments in the favour of a round Earth are all weak, rather just the fact that supporters of this movement are simply too stubborn to even consider any other possibility rather than a Flat Earth.

To conclude, in my opinion, the claim that the best test of an argument is to convince someone with an opposite perspective for the stated reason that on being forced to defend an idea against contrasting views one discovers its merits is a sound one. However, it is also true that this claim cannot be applied in a universal manner to all situations, because some people are too rigid in their belief systems to even consider an opposite viewpoint.