People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a popular adage that says that, "The most important decisions must be made using the brain, not the heart." This sort of distinction between thinking logically and emotionally have always been maintained when it comes to making decisions; the two are treated as polar opposites. In fact, any mingling of the two is seen with some disdain with many believing that the people who make decisions based on emotion and then justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers. I somewhat agree with this school of thought, and will be providing two reasons to support my reasoning, along with offering some consideration to the contrary side.

Firstly, in politics, administration as well as business, decisions that are purely based on emotions are considered poor decisions. Consider the example of Prithviraj, the great Rajput king of India. His kingdom was attacked by Mohammed Ghori 33 times, yet he pardoned the man each time as he took the emotional decision to respect Ghori's pleas for mercy. The 34th time, Prithiviraj himself was blinded and killed horrifically, and his kingdom reduced to mere rubble. Clearly, if logic plays no part in making important decisions, the consequences can be disastrous for both the individual and the people the decision impacts. Thus, purely emotional important decisions are generally considered a poor call.

Secondly, the simple fact is that emotions are not logical, in any way, shape or form. To attempt to explain something that is not logical utilising rules of logic is only foolishness, as it is an impossible task. Imagine being asked to prove that a triangle is actually a square. It sounds both outlandish and impossible. The attempt to explain the emotions behind making an emotional decision logically is also likewise both outlandish and impossible, and is a fruitless activity.

However, not all emotional decisions are poor decisions. It would be too cynical and oversimplifying to call all emotional decisions bad. Some decisions are meant to be emotional and going with your emotions is the right way to proceed in those cases. Consider choosing your vocation, something you will be doing for many years to come. Choosing to work in a field you feel passionate about and doing something that makes you happy is the right call to take compared to what the highest money maker is. It is something you have toe spend most of your life doing and it is only justified to decide to go ahead with something that brings you joy. Thus, emotion definitely has a significant role to play in some important decisions.

To conclude, calling people who make decisions based on emotions and then justify those with logic poor decision makers would be oversimplifying a complicated idea. In my opinion, this idea is definitely correct as emotional decisions are often bad as they can have unintended consequences and the idea of using logic to explain emotions is a contradiction in itself. However, some decisions are meant to be emotional and cannot be called "bad" decisions in the same way.