All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All companies are looking for new ways to work more efficiently and increase their productivity. There are many ways to do this. Often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for them to operate more efficiently. Some believe that if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. I mostly agree with this take and will be providing two points to support my position. I will also discuss a contrary situation where this statement might not hold.

Firstly, getting feedback from the employees who work in the company on how to improve its functioning seems like an obvious idea. They are the ones that are involved in the day-to-day work of the company, they know it's bottlenecks and processes inside out. It will be easiest for the person with the most understanding to give valuable ways to improve efficiency. In fact, in a study by Harvard Business Review, it was found that companies with an executive leadership that used employee feedback on at least a half-yearly basis saw a 50% increase in their efficiency in a year when compared to companies that relied on just outside consultants. Thus, the numbers speak for themselves and make it clear that employee feedback is definitely more valuable that the feedback from consultants in this matter.

Secondly, the utmost way for a company to improve its operational efficiency is by building itself as a well oiled machine. Employees are the most essential components of this machine as they keep everything running. If a company chooses to give more weight to outside opinions over the suggestions of the actual people running it, they would naturally feel unheard and disheartened. These feelings might lead to lack of employee loyalty, poor company culture and even low rates of employee attrition. In a study in the Great Manager Institute, it was found that employees would much rather prefer a company that takes their feedback seriously over a company that ignores it, even when they are paid less in the former job. All people care about the work that they do and therefore, it is important to recognise the most important voices in the matter of company operations; the employees behind those very operations.

However, there are times when the insight of an impartial third party is necessary to make some real change. Bringing in outside consultants can provide an alternate point of view from industry experts and allow companies to consider points they might not have thought of otherwise. In the study by the Harvard Business Review cited before, it was found that the highest percentage of increase in efficiency over a year was observed by companies who opted for a combination of employee feedback and outside consultants.Thus, both definitely have their place in this process and can together allow companies to holistically analyse and improve their functioning.

To conclude, the utilisation of employee feedback or feedback from outside consultants to improve the efficiency of a company's operations is a complex matter. In my opinion, the employee feedback definitely hold more weight as they see the real ground-level situation but feedback from outside consultants can also offer value as they are a neutral expert in the field and can bring in alternative points of view.