Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The ethics of how a corporation operates is a complicated topic. There are many schools of thought which each have their own opinions on the right and wrong way for a corporation to work. Some believe that they have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that as long as they comply with the law, their only responsibility is to make as much money as possible. I agree with the former belief system and will be providing reasoning for the same, along with the pitfalls of the latter.

Firstly,a corporation is always dependent on the society and environment it operates in. If it werent for either of those, it wouldn't have the employees or the resources it requires to function and make money. Take for example, the Bhopal Gas Tragedy. It involved a chemical factory that operated in the outskirts of Bhopal, since the climate was most suitable to the work being undertaken. Most of the employees were citizens of the city and lived within 5 kilometer radius of the factory. Thus, the society and the environment around it were absolutely essential to the work being undertaken at this chemical plant. Still, the corporation chose to ignore many security warnings and continue operations when they were told not to and it eventually led to one of the worst and most horrific gas leak disasters in the world. Many died, many were deformed permanently. Generations are still paying the price for the lack of responsibility of the corporation to care for the people that help its business function. It is and must be a two way relationship, with corporations taking responsibility for the society as well as environment they operate in and the employees and environments allowing their business to thrive.

Secondly, there are pitfalls to the money-minded approach for the operation of a corporation as well. If a corporation, as long as it functions legally only cares to make money, it will eventually hit a rut in its growth, and might even end up in a financially worse situation. It is only inevitable, as people will have no loyalty to a organisation that only cares to make money, and without a dedicated workforce it will be hard to continue growing. Take for example the case of PNG versus the people of Hinkley, California. It was proven in court that PNG had been knowingly poisoning the water around the town to increase their capital gains and were even going so far as to lie to the people of the town and telling them they were actually making the water healthier. The people of Hinkley were awarded the largest civil settlement in the history of the United States and PNG was absolutely bankrupted trying to pay the compensation. They also lost their good reputation and consequently lost many similar cases and now operate at a much lower level than what they did 20-30 yyears ago. Thus, being only money minded and not taking responsibility for the society and the environment they operate in made them lose much more money than they would have if they has chosen to consider the ethical implications of their actions.

To conclude, the ethics of how a corporation should operate have many different perspectives. In my opinion, corporations need to take responsibility for the upliftment of the society and environment they operate in for both the goodwill of their business as well to make more money. If they are only money-minded as long as they are legally allowed, it might eventually have terrible consequences for all three parties involved; the society, the environment and the corporation themselves.