Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the Advertising Director of the Super Screen Movie Production company, the main recommendation is to allocate a greater share of the budget for the next year to advertising to combat the observed drop in number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies in the past year. The evidence provided in support of this is a recent report by the marketing department documenting the decrease in footfall to Super Screen-produced movies juxtaposed with the increase in the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies. The recommendation as provided is quite weak. It makes quite a few unwarranted assumptions and there are at least three questions that need to be answered to evaluate it effectively.

The first question is, how many Super Screen-produced movies were released in the past year when compared to previous years? It is possible that there were simply fewer Super Screen movies released when compared to past years, leading to the observed drop in footfall. Maybe, the numbers are actually in line with past years when the ratios of the number of movies to the number of people attending them are compared. If either of these were true, the entire basis of the argument would be destroyed, leaving it very much weakened.

The second question is, what is the ratio of the percentage of positive reviews to the percentage of negative reviews for Super Screen movies from the past year? Perhaps, the number of negative reviews has also increased, countering any impact from the percieved jump in the percentage of positive reviews. It could also be that there are now many new forums to provide reviews that simply did not exist before, leading to a higher number of reviews in general, irrespective of whether they are positive or negative. If either of these were to stand true, the supporting evidence of increased positive reviews would be voided, making the argument lose a lot of weight.

The third is, how do we know that the contents of the positive reviews are not reaching prospective viewers? It is possible that the content of the films released in the past year was not having widespread appeal, so it was loved by a niche audience but most people were not interested in it in spite of the positive reviews. Maybe, the points highlighted by the positive reviews are not what the masses look for in a movie, therefore they do not feel inclined to watch it upon reading the reviews. If either of these were to be true, it would imply that the awareness about the good quality Super Screen movies is not the cause for the decrease in people watching these movies, making the argument lose a lot of water.

In conclusion, this recommendation as it stands is quite flawed and makes quite a few unwarranted assumptions. If answers to the aforementioned three questions could be provided, it would be possible to evaluate it effectively and decide if it is reasonable or not.