The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching is universally considered the most difficult profession because of the amount of responsibility and power teachers uphold. There are many teaching techniques in which some considered better than others and vice versa. There is a popular school of thought that believes that the best way to teach is through praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones. I somewhat agree with this, and will provide two reasons to support my beliefs. I will also be discussing a pitfall of this method.

Firstly, the idea that positive reinforcement works well to teach is not a controversial one. It is well supported by much research in the field of psychology, studies in teaching and sociological theses. In fact, positive reinforcement is also the number one way to train dogs and other animals. Usually positive actions or expected behavior is reinforced with the help of praise, pets and treats the animal likes. Humans are not much different. Each person desires hearing praise, and if something brings it to them, they are more likely to repeat that behaviour.

To add on, ignoring negative behaviours when they happen also happens to be a well supported teaching technique. This is supported by many early childhood studies and parenting books. It is believed that toddlers often throw tantrums because they want to demand attention, rather than something that is actually causing them pain or discomfort. It is recommended that parents ignore this negative behaviour, as it teaches the child that it will not bring them the attention they desire, hence nipping the behaviour in the bud. This technique is similary applied to older children and even adults in schools,universities,offices and more.

However, this method is not without its pitfalls. The most obvious one is that ignoring negative behaviours can sometimes even be dangerous and lead to untoward consequences. For example, if a student is bullying another student and a teacher ignore this sort of activity it might bring about real harm and trauma to the student being bullied. The line must be drawn on what is absolutely unacceptable negative behaviour and it must be checked immediately without letting it carry on for any period of time.

To conclude, saying that the best way of teaching is by praising positive behaviour and ignoring negative one is a complicated notion. In my opinion, it is a tried-and-tested method and can definitely be beneficial, with the benefits well documented in various fields of research. However, it can also lead to real harm if no checks are in place to protect everyone involved.