The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,

industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is the resposibility of a society to take great care to prepare its youth for the challenges of the future, since they will be the ones forging the path ahead. This includes preparing young people for future leadership roles in government, industry and other fields. Many believe that the key to this is instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition in them. I agree with this belief system and will be providing two reasons to support my opinion. However, I do believe that cooperation is not the only quality required to build future leaders and will be addressing that as well.

Firstly, it is widely known that cooperation is the most important quality a leader can have. A leader who can work with his people and maintain harmony is considered highly successful and only someone who understands the value of cooperation can achieve this. The Great Manager Institute recently released a study in which they revealed the qualities that the 1 million+ participants had considered as most important while ranking their leaders over the past 10 years. Cooperation and team work was the consistent winner by a large margin. Thus, the value of cooperation was reinforced with the support of data, at least in the industry.

Further, the world has seen both governments who have prized cooperation in their leaders and governments who believe in their competitive spirit instead. The Japanese are a great example to bring in here, as they have seen governments of both kinds in recent history. During World War 2, a competitive Japanese government decided to bomb Pearl Harbour in the USA and that decision eventually brought the horrors of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki on them. Learning from their mistakes, the people have chosen to elect governments that highly prized cooperation instead, and taught the same to their children as well. This has made Japan world leaders and a utopian society where people help each other, crime rates are extremely low and quality of life is very high.

However, some might counter that leaders need more qualities that just cooperation to be considered great. It is true that cooperation is not the only quality required to build good future leaders. Leaders need to be excellent communicators, approachable, empathetic, forward-thinking and humble along with cooperative. Society needs to inculcate all these qualities to bring forth the finest quality of leaders for all domains. Only by this well rounded personality development can help set the children on the right path for their and the society's future.

To conclude, the belief that the best way for a society to prepare it's youth for future leadership roles in government, industry etc is to instill a sense of cooperation instead of competition in them is a complex matter. In my opinion, this is the right approach as it the single most important quality in a leader and there is historic proof that a sense of cooperation leads to a better future than a sense of competition. I do however concede that cooperation is not the only quality required to build good leaders and that society must focus on well-rounded overall development of its youth to achieve this goal.