The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen

Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are

available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to

reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

The main recommendation as per the given memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is to allocate a greater share of budget to advertising next year to reach the people.The evidence presented in support of this includes the disparity in the decreased number of movie-goers to Super Screen produced movies as per the report by the marketing department and the increase in positive reviews for the same movies in the past year. In my opinion, there are three important questions that must be answered before this recommendation can be evaluated.

The first is, How many Super Screen produced movies were released in the past year and how do those numbers compare to previous years? It is possible that the reduced footfall to these movies is simply because fewer movies were released than the years before. Maybe, this trend is not just applicable to Super Screen produced movies and fewer people are choosing to watch all kinds of movies in cinemas. If either of these were true, this recommendation would be severely weakened.

The second is, Is the increase in positive reviews applicable to all the Super Screen produced movies released in the year or only one or two? It could be that a couple of the movies were considered extremely good by the viewers and that led to an increase in the number of positive reviews just for those, rather than for all the movies released in the year. It is also possible that, number of reviews in general, both bad and good and have gone up, leading to this increase in positive reviews being effectively negated. If either of these stand true, the argument presented would lose quite a lot of weight.

The third being, How exactly is it ascertained that the public is unaware that the Super Screen movies are of good quality simply because the positive reviews are not reaching them? It is possible that the general public is unaware of the movies as they had limited distribution and did not reach all kinds of people. Maybe, the content of the movies is only relatable for a select few, leading to the increased positive reviews but most people are simply not interested. If either of these things were true, this recommendation would not hold up.

To conclude, the recommendation as it stands is quite flawed. If the answers to these three questions were provided, it would be possible to analyse if the recommendation is reasonable. Without these answers, the recommendation does not hold a lot of water.