The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centred approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centred method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article written by Dr. Karp, the main point is that the interview-centered method used by his team of graduate students to understand child-rearing traditions and other island cultures is more accurate than Dr. Field's previously used observation-based technique. The evidence presented is the interviews of the children from Tertia where they spoke more about their biological parents than other adults in the village. This directly contradicts the conclusion Dr.Field had made via observation that the children in Tertia are raised by the whole village rather than their biological parents. I believe this argument as it stands is quite weak and three pieces of evidence are required to analyse the argument.

The first evidence needed is providing the questions that were asked to the children in the interviews conducted by Dr. Karp's team. It is possible that the questions related to biological parents and thus the children spoke about them. Maybe the questions directly mentioned their parents and thus, obviously the children spoke about them over other people in the village. If either of these were true, it would make the argument presented lose a lot of weight.

The second evidence required is a further explanation as to how this observation drawn from the interviews negates the previous conclusion drawn by Dr. Field. It could be that in 20 years things have change in Tertia and the child-rearing traditions are no longer the same as what was observed by Dr. Field. It is also possible that if instead of children, older people were interviewed about their childhoods they quantify what Dr. Field had concluded. If either of these happen to be the case, the argument would be rendered ineffective.

The third evidence needed is how this apparent failure of the observation-centered approach in one situation proves the entire approach invalid. Maybe, this failure is a one-time fluke and the technique is actually quite effective to study cultures. Perhaps, interacting with people from these cultures instead of observing them is actually altering their behaviour and leading to wrong conclusions about island cultures. If either of these points were true, the argument would no longer hold water.

To conclude, the argument that the interview-centred method is superior to the observation-centered for the study of island cultures like Tertia, as it stands, is flawed. If the three pieces of evidence mentioned are provided, the argument would be strengthened and it would also be possible to properly evaluate it.