Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The main argument of this essay is that since there is a small possibility that an individual can die as a result of inoculation against cow flu, the vaccines for it cannot be allowed to be routinely administered in areas where there are outbreaks of the disease. This argument as provided is quite weak and makes quite a few unfounded assumptions. There are at least three pieces of evidence required to evaluate the argument and conclude if it is reasonable or not.

The first piece of evidence needed is the difference in mortality rate for the inoculated versus the ones who are not. It has been mentioned that many lives would be saved by this vaccination but no evidence for how fatal the disease is has been provided. Perhaps, it is a mild flu for most people with no real impact. It could also be that perhaps it has very low fatality rate and most people escape unscathed. If either of these were true, the argument as it stand would be quite weakened.

The second piece of evidence required is the ratio of the number of people who could die because of the inoculation to the number of people who could die because of the disease. Perhaps, more people die of the disease than could ever die because of the vaccine. Maybe, the vaccine has a very small death rate, something like 1 in thousands over even a million. If either of these were true, the argument would lose all water as the number of deaths prevented by the vaccine would triumph over the number of possible deaths due to it.

The third piece of evidence is with respect to which groups of the population are the most susceptible to the cow flu inoculation related deaths.Maybe only select groups, like the elderly and children are likely to die due to the vaccine. It could also be that some immunocompromised individuals are not able to survive the inoculation, but the rest of the population would easily be able to survive it. If either of these were true, it would severely weaken the argument as the simple solution would be to inoculate only the ones who can safely take it and maximise the lives saved.

To conclude, the argument as it stands it quite flawed. If additional evidence like the evidence referenced could be provided, it would be much more possible to analyse the argument and evaluate if it is reasonable or unreasonable.