The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The main idea presented in this memorandum by a business manager of a television station is to restore the time devoted to local and weather news in the late-night new program to its levels from the past years to avoid losses in revenue and customers. The evidence they have presented to support the same is the complaints recieved from viewers with respect to their coverage of local and weather news as well as local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts with the television station. I believe this argument is currently quite weak, and needs at least three crucial pieces of evidence to be considered.

The first is evidence pointing out that the complaints from viewers re the coverage of local and weather news in the late-night news program are actually concerned with the reduced time dedicated to them. Maybe, some viewers feel that the weather or local news coverage has been incorrect or not presented well. It could also very well be that the viewers are unhappy with the content the station is choosing to include in these reports, rather than the reduced focus on them in the late-night news program. If either of these were true, the argument presented would be really weakened.

The second evidence needed is the content of viewer complaints prior to this change. Perhaps, the complaints before this year has included viewers saying the same things about the weather and local news coverage. It is also possible that there were complaints wanting more focus on national news on the late-night news program over the local and weather news. If any of these possibilities were true, the argument would lose a lot of weight.

The third evidence required is related to the cancellation of the advertising contracts with the television station by local businesses is definitely related to this shift in the content of the late-night new program specifically. It is quite possible that this is completely unrelated to the reduced focus on local news in this program. It could be that the businesses have been offered more lucrative contracts by competing television stations. It is also possible that the local businesses themselves are facing financial issues and are thus cancelling the advertising contracts to cut their own costs. If any of these was to be true, the argument would not hold much water.

To conclude, the argument as it stands is flawed. If, at minimum, the highlighted evidence could be provided it would be possible to analyse the argument more effectively.