An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the recommendation to promote the new breed of millet high in Vitamin A is being made to the government of Tagus to combat the Vitamin A deficiency among its people. The evidence provided to support this are the subsidies provided to farmers to farm this new kind of millet in the face of its higher cost and the fact that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. I believe that this argument as it stands is weak and can only be evaluated if the answers to at least three important questions are provided.

The first is, What is the difference in the cost of the seeds of the new type of millet and the subsidy being offered to the farmers? Are they able to offset these increased costs of seeds with the subsidy being provided? Perhaps, the subsidy is too little to cover the price gap in the seeds of ordinary millet versus the new kind. Maybe, there are additional hidden costs in growing the new kind of millet that would render the subsidy pointless. If either of these were to be true and the impoverished farmers would actually have to pay more to grow the new kind of millet, the argument would lose a lot of weight.

The second is, Is there any difference in the taste, texture or smell of the new kind of millet when compared to the old one? It could be that the new kind of millet has a markedly different taste and thus, is not readily accepted by the people of Tagus. It is also possible that the new millet has a different texture altogether and thus cannot be consumed as a replacement for the other kind of millet, needing different ways of cooking altogether to be consumed. If either of these points were true, the new millet would not be so readily adopted, rendering the argument quite weak.

The third is, What is the cost of buying the new kind of millet when compared to the old one? Maybe, the cost is much higher than the regular kind of millet and is out of reach for most of the impoverished people who actually face the Vitamin A deficiency. Perhaps, the new kind of millet needs to be stored in special kinds of containers which are required to be bought separately, leading to a much higher cost to the buyer. if either of these were true, it would be difficult for the impoverished people of Tagus to readily adopt the new kind of millet and the argument would lose a lot of water.

To conclude, the argument as it stands is flawed. If answers to the three questions mentioned could be provided, it would be possible to evaluate the recommendation thoroughly with the complete facts at hand and decide whether the recommendation is likely to have predicted result or not.