Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This is a controversial topic of whether people of similar mindsets help in the growth and better learning of an individual. This is based on the assumption that disagreement can induce stress and scotch learning. Indisputably, stress caused from the act of disagreement is bad and condemned. Nevertheless, there is no concrete evidence that this unwanted stress stops the process of learning in an individual. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the author's reason for their claims.

First of all, when encountered with different mindsets or opinions, people are forced to see the same things or situations from different perspectives. They are provided with different recounts of the same incident with a narrative that might fill some missing gaps they built their opinions upon. To illustrate, imagine a documentary showcasing the life cycle of a deer. While watching this documentary, people are sure to hate and resent the lion or any other predator that hunts these deer's. But when the same audience is shown another documentary on the life style of a lion or tiger, the very same process of hunting is met with encouragement and excitement. In both of these cases the incident is same but the narration and story depicted is different. Until both of the documentaries are watched it is not possible to form an opinion that is not colored or impartial. Hence, discussions with people of varied attitudes is important to form strong views.

Furthermore, a person's mental and physical comportment is decided by their social circle and kind of people they interact with. For example, consider a child growing up in a racist family and surrounded by friends and co-workers who not only resist interaction with the minorities but also refuse to empathize with their struggles. If this man is to enter other colleges or places where people are understanding and are victims to racism, he might be met with a lot of embarrassment and negative character impression. Having been groomed to follow only a few set of principles because of his social circle limits his interaction from the places outside his town or area. It could even be difficult to change his views and interact freely without serious help. This type of situations enhance the need for better and efficient communication of people with each other as a way to get ready to enter the real world.

Admittedly, the stress and humiliation the man might face from the above example can be great and drive him to find people of the same views, but it also provides him the chance to understand his fellow humans and turn a new leaf. Though this type of interaction does not guarantee a change immediately in individuals, it does provides them with a choice to improve and change for better. It is too easy to slip into the negative side rather than repudiating one's believes. This consequently divides up people and isolates some groups. When drove to extremes these isolated groups can also adopt violence to propagate their views and drive a even larger wall among the society. Hence, stress and fear of meeting with disappointment is not a valid reason for not encouraging people to mingle with groups with different backgrounds and needs to be avoided for a united society.

In conclusion, the notion that interaction with the same minded people being more ideal to avoid the stress that inhibits learning is a baseless statement made by the author. Unless the statement is modified or added with more data that backs this idea it is not best to accept the views of the author. In fact implementing these claims over people could result in more segregation and wars.