All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, parents go through many lengths to ensure that their children are educated in better and popular schools. They research and gather information about the place the school is established to the kind of curriculum they use to make sure it is the best choice for their children. But no matter how much external information they gather, no parent can visualize the complete working of the school. Volunteering at schools provides a way for these parents to bond with the school and provide them with a realistic experience.

Parents will have to make time in their schedules in order to volunteer at schools. This could in turn provide them with a chance to explore and nitpick the school their children are studying in. They can observe its comportment towards their children and how well they are dealing with rogue members. Most children who are victims to bullying never openly speak about their traumas with their parents or the school authorities out of fear. Through the act of volunteering the parents can keep closer eye at a respectable distance about the troubles faced by their children and provide them with assistance if required.

Contrasting the above statement, this act of volunteering could also encourage bullies to become more aggressive with assurance that their parents will support them or save them if things were to get worse. There might be more parents who rather encourage and spoil their children regardless of their selfish acts and constantly interrupt school authorities if they try to punish these children. Others, though disappointed in their children, will often try to reduce their punishment or prevent them from any serious repercussions in the name of love. This could not only worsen the situation for children but also undermines the school authority by protecting them from punishment.

Apart from viewing their children's school life from a distance, this volunteering could also allow a chance to fester better friendship among the parents. These kind of friendships between parents could in turn lead to unofficial organizations or groups of parents who discuss their children welfare and come up with measures to better the school life. Schools always have room for improvement and providing them a mass feedback from parents whenever required would be one of the ways to enhance its capabilities. For example, rather than a single parent complaining about the curriculum their children are burdened with, if more than 20 parents make the same complaint, the chances of taking the complaint seriously by the school authorities is very high.

Contradicting the above example, most parents do not have the knowledge to decipher which subjects are more useful than the others to question the established curriculum by the schools. They also do not have enough data about the systematic way the school runs to question it. These kind of groups formed by parents are useful in some cases but serves a severe drawback in most times. Their constant micro managing and ideals to question everything the school does restricts the school authorities from introducing innovative notions without undue allegations and resistance.

Volunteering is an amenable act that should be revered. With parents taking it up willingly could act as a good influence on children who will grow up learning and accepting this social endeavor. And yet this kind of acts come with their own consequences that counter the benefits. With proper organization and guidance, volunteering could be viewed as a shield that could protect the children from discrimination, bullying and unreasonable work loads. But with no proper maintenance it becomes a curse that limits the school and with it the children.