The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states an argument in favor of investing in an company called Consolidated Industries. They further justifies their conclusion with evidences that lack some clarity. They mentions that the oil is a major fuel in the United States and this utilization might increase in the coming winters with the growing population. It is also stated that the coming winter will be more harsher than the last with the help of a climate forecasters report. The author's claim depends upon major assumptions without which his entire plan of investing would collapse.

The author mentions that winters in the United States has seen more oil consumption than in other seasons. They also state that the oil is a major fuel. But they never mention about other heating resources like petroleum, natural gas, electric heaters and so on. Though oil is a majorly used fuel at present, it is wise to consider the alternatives people could adopt to inhibit the cold during winters in the future. Especially with the growing population, there is more probability that this newly immigrated people will come with their own alternatives for heat production and refuse to participate in the traditional oil usage. Unless more through statistics showing the guarantee usage of oil among people is given, it cannot be concluded that the oil will remain the majorly utilized fuel in the upcoming winters.

Additionally, the author also mentioned an analysis presented by the weather forecast that predicts a severe winter in the upcoming years. But the author fails to accommodate the credibility of this weather report in their argument. Weather forecasts is unpredictable and keeps changing everyday. There are very few stations that predict the weather accurately and yet they too have times when they were wrong. Hence, depending solely on the weather forecast to predict the temperatures of the winters is not enough and require further proof. Additional information or data needs to be acquired that confirms the authors claim's of harsh winters.

Furthermore, the author lauded the Consolidated Industries to be the ideal company to invest for a smooth and trouble-less winter. He praises their characteristic of being the major business operations in the retail sale of home heating oil but never mentions about their efficiency. To illustrate, imagine a company that produces large amounts of chocolates every year but these chocolates lack the quality to be edible. Though this company is known for their quantity they are resented in terms of quality. Adding to this, they are also known to be prone to infidelity and never live up to their end of bargains. Comparing the chocolate company to Consolidates Industries, no differences would be found until the author provides some information regarding the quality of the oil and vouches for their loyalty to help the citizens of the country.

In conclusion, the author has built his argument upon various assumptions that might dissolute his plans if proved wrong. They left many empty blanks unanswered and ended their argument on an ambiguous note and partial conclusions. Thoroughly researching and regrouping their data might be beneficial to the author to extend some credibility of their claims with least disapproval and resistance. Taking more concrete evidences and survey might add to this credibility and help them prosper their investments.