The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author makes an argument in favor of construction of an jazz music club in Monroe. The author supports his claim by addressing the growing popularity in Monroe surrounding the jazz music and provides suitable examples to drive their point further. Stated like this the authors claims look logical and practical but they lack the basis of sound evidence. The examples stated lack some clarity and adds more doubts on the claim's made by the author. Major assumptions play an important role in their argument and many unanswered questions leave the argument more ambiguous, making the author sound obscure.

First of all, the author mentions that over 100,000 people attended the annual jazz festival. It is implicitly stated that this number is huge without any evidence. To illustrate, assume a town of population 500,000. If an event in this town received an attendance of 50, it is clear that the attendance is not that large in proportion with the population of the town. But, assume another town with a population of 100. The town conducted an event and has procured the same attendance of 50. In this case, the attendance is very large in proportion with the population. Hence, providing a census of the population of Monroe for clear interpretation of whether the attendance received by the annual jazz festival is huge or small, would make the author more credible.

Additionally, the author readily assumes that since Monroe is housing many jazz musicians, the residents are more inclined towards the jazz music. Imagine a man who posses many guitars and has made a habit of collecting them in new styles and different sounds. His possession does not guarantee his skills in the art. He could be a owner of a guitar ship or a guitar maker and so on. Unless explicitly stated by the man that he is good at playing them it cannot be assumed that he is a good player. Similarly, housing many musicians from one particular genre cannot guarantee the willingness of the people towards events or clubs incorporating jazz or the genre specifies. Modifying the statement to include the connection between the musicians and the phenomenon of becoming a jazz fan would have made author more convincing to the reader.

Furthermore, The author also states that a typical jazz fan spends around 1000 dollars per year. No such criteria upon which this conclusion is derived is given in the argument. To illustrate, assume a group of 10 friends. One of them donates a 100 dollar bill for a noble cause. Now the average of the donation made by the group is 10 dollars. This statement implies that every one of the group paid dollars even though 9 of them have not even participated in the donation. Similarly, an analysis of typical fan spending's without separating the jazz fans from non jazz fans is a miscalculated statistics. Including a detailed instructions of this conclusion was calculated would have bolstered the author's argument and made them less abstruse.

In conclusion, the author makes interesting points with no back ground data to support his views. Without any changes or addition of required information, the author cannot make a valid argument. In fact, the overall statements made by the author looks like wishful thinking rather than an argument made on substantive evidence.