The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the application form of loan by small business group to open a new jazz house in the city had conjectured that the new jazz house in the city would be profitable. The applicants had come to this conclusion based on the fact that jazz music is very popular in the Monroe city : over 100,000 people visited the jazz music last summer. Furthermore, they made the conclusion based on the data that every year a proficient fan spends around $1000 on jazz entertainment. However, Before this conclusion can be made the applicants would be able to give answer to the following three questions.

Firstly, can we compare that the profit on the new jazz club would be same based on the flow of the people on last summer? Can this comparison which is made could be completely true for the new jazz club that it will be profitable? Perhaps, the new jazz club going to inaugurate in the city may not have same flow of the people as last year summer? The large population which visited the jazz entertainment may have come from the other city in the special occasion. The last year may have been declared as Jazz music year by the country; hence, the flow might have been in the myriad amount. So, if either of this scenario may have been true than the assumptions made on the argument would completely insignificant.

Furthermore, Can we surmise the profit of the new jazz club only on the basis that there are few popular jazz musician in the city? Can we considered that these musicians will also come to the new jazz club for their performance? Perhaps, these popular jazz musicians may have some share or investment in the other jazz club of the city. Maybe they have some contract with other club and they may not allowed to perform in other jazz club of the city. So, the applicants have made the baseless assumption without any certainty that the popular musician would come to their club for performance. So, If above scenario would be true then the assumptions made would be completely baseless.

Finally, Can we be sure that the only jazz music could be enough for assuring profit for the new jazz club? There may be the condition that the other jazz club may have better hospitality and food items along with the better jazz performance. The ornamentation may be the factor to allure the people to their club. So, if this would be true than considering profitable business based on only jazz in the new club would be misleading

In conclusion, as it stands now, the assumption made above are completely flawed due to its reliance on the baseless assumptions and evidence. The applicants should be able to answer to the above three question or should provide more evidence before the above conclusion can be considered. Otherwise concluded assumption may not assure the applicants to the profitable business.