The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The group of developers, in an attempt for a small-business loan, stated an extreme popularity of jazz music in the city of monroe. "Because over 100,000 people attended monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated

radio program in monroe is 'jazz nightly,' which airs every weeknight, therefore, a jazz music club in monroe would be tremendously profitable." there are assumptions made in this argument that the group of developers failed to take into consideration. Infact, several questions needs to be answered for clarity to take it's place before the loan givers could consider their application well-deserved and agree to the prompt that a jazz music club in monroe would indeed be tremendously profitable.

Firstly, the author need to state by what mean was the popularity of jazz music in monroe measured. The fact that jazz music is popular in the city means that there are other music existing in monroe. how did the group of developers come by the fact that jazz music is extremely popular? it is possible that only jazz musicians exist in the city. hence, the people has no choice than to accept jazz music. Perhaps, more so, that the musicians have only been limited in there musical ability only to jazz music, such that they could not produce other genres of music like hip-hop, reggae and the likes. If a well detailed record of jazz music as compared to other genres of music in the city of monroe could be presented, then it could have been more understandable to agree that the jazz music is extremely popular.

Furthermore, it was stated that over 100,000 people attended monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. We need to examine the number of this attendee to with the population of monroe city as a while. what if the 100,000 people are less than one percent of the total number of monroe's occupants? there is also a need for clarity on monroe's general population as compared to the number of people who attended the music festival. Otherwise, the argument does not hold water!

It was also stated that the last music festival was held in summer. The author failed to consider how weather or climate change could also play a role in people's movement. The summer is generally a period when heat is prevalent as compared to other seasons. hence, it is possible that people would want to unavoidably go outside and take some fresh air due to their inability to withstand extreme heat in their respective homes. But if the author could present a past record of attendance at the music festival, say, during last Winter, then it could have been possible to agree that people are not just attending the festival due to climate change.

Lastly, the prompt that 'jazz nightly' is the highest-rated radio program in monroe which airs every weeknight also suggested that there are other radio programs in the city. The group of developers would need to provide a clear evidence on the rating. The fact that of a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in monroe also does not mean that there are no other musicians with a penchant for other genres of music, resident in the city. hence, the developers' argument does not stand enough ground to warrant lending them a loan, neither does it provide irrefutable evidence to agree that a jazz music club in monroe would be tremendously profitable.