The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The application provided by the developers sound great at the first examination, and they do provide interesting facts and figures to support their claim. Adequate potential customers of jazz entertainments and the high spending on jazz musical activities will boost the business, so it seems viable and profitable for the loan provider to invest in the developers’ future business. However, some data are away from the analysis of the developers. The developers only provide superficial data, and more detailed information are needed regarding the demography of the 100,000 people that attend the annual jazz festival, the preference of the residents of Monroe in jazz music, and the economical ability of the people living in Monroe.

The first thing that come to mind about the data provided is the breakdown of the total number of the people that is analyzed. The developers mention that there are 100,000 people come to the annual music festival, and it sounds like a big deal for the investor. However, this figure must be broken into meaningful fractional data that correlate as potential customers of the business. What if 100,000 people figure is merely an insignificant number compared to the total population of Monroe? Perhaps, there are more than 10 millions people living in Monroe, so 100,000 people only account for 1% of total population. Other music genre might have bigger fans size compared to the jazz music. If this fact is true, then the investor will be unenthusiastic with the offer from the developers. Another possibility is that most of these people are from other cities outside Monroe, and they only come to the city when the event takes place. To better figure out this probability, the developers must analyze where these 100,00 come from, and would they willingly come to Monroe for Jazz entertainment? How far do they live from the proposed location of the club? How often they may come to the town for jazz entertainment at the new club? These questions must indeed be answered by the developers because if all the data does not make the proposed club profitable, they will not get the loan and their efforts will be futile.

Another factor that must be pinpointed is whether the current club is still within the reach of the people living nearby. These potential customers may think that the current club is still convenient for them as their usual place to enjoy the jazz. May be the people around this club has easy access to the club, either by their personal cars or by using public transportation, and if new club will be opened by the developer, it will face direct competition with the existing club. If this is the case, what is their strategy to face the existing club? What is something special about this club? How can they beat the existing club? If they can not afford to beat their already operating competitor, then they must find another place. Is there any other place that has no existing club within reachable distance? How far do the people want to travel for jazz entertainment in daily or weekly basis? These all questions must first be answered by the developers to finally make more proper conclusion and better proposal for their business.

The last thing that need to be considered is the economical ability of people in Monroe. The developers state that one fan pay 1,000 dollars annually for Jazz music. This figure is interesting for business, yet who exactly the people that want to pay that amount of money? Are they living in the city, or do they come from more affluent city? The developers also must find how many people can pay the products provided by their future club in the city or within the vicinity of their club. It is more wise from them to create a thorough customers survey first before making the provided assumption. If all these questions can not be answered properly, then the developers’ application is not compelling enough for now.