Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is such a vast possibility that its end can neither be determined nor be predicted, and there are profusing subjects and area of knowledge that can either be studied or designated as a basis for further development of humanity. One reason may come from each person as he or she collects the fraction of those knowledge, and the only logical way to describe why any human wants to study some of those knowledge is by defining their motivation in the first place. The idea of learning is fulfilling the gaps that are inherent and unique to each person, and it can be driven by only the specific goal or whim that is being held by the person. Some people might have similar goals at the first sight, yet people won’t learn only one or two things at one time. Many things, like skills or instructions, can be learnt by any individual at any single time. For example, this month your neighbor wants to learn cooking cause he or she aspires to have the skill to cook for his or her future family, while the same time this very same neighbor will start studying at college within the same major, let say, supposedly in medicine, because both of you have the same goal of becoming a competent doctor to save live in the future. Indeed, learning is a product of personal motivation, and there are numerous explanations can be found for this statement.

Aformentioned motivation is the fundamental foundation of learning for all people. It drives people to persistently continue their efforts in studying different type of skills, and it will be hard to believe that people are enforced to do so without enjoying the real meaning of learning. Those people might still be considered as learners of certain thing, yet they might feel differently compared to the people who truly want to learn the subject, and the result might be different. People who clearly want to learn things always have the motivation to master the skill ot the knowledge. For example, people who are passionate about science will learn many new findings willingly, despite there might be some time of rests due to certain exhaustion, yet this willingness will be a great success factor for their future. Excellent scientists do not formed in a single instance. Instead, they need hours of studying and researching in the lab to enhance their abilities before able to find new technologies those are useful for general public. Enforced people might be still possible to succeed without any significant motivation, yet they will need tremendous sacrifices and if they do not have the potentials and basic abilities to do so, then it would be impossible for them to achieve the same success. Many people will name this phenomenon as “grit”, and we can find many examples of people with grit who can show their outstanding passions toward their field, and to reach that current position they need efforts to learn, and this efforts require individual goals and whims to be formed within oneself.

However, this notion of motivation for creating willingness to learn is not the only way to drive people to learn. Some ways can be done to allure people to learn things that are previously unwanted, or to rebound demotivated people in their studies when they feel too pressurized due to life problems or any other factors. Many colleges, governments, and some organizations offer merit-based scholarships to excite people to study hard and achieve more from their learning experience. The benefits provided by the scholarships are sometimes interesting for many people, especially for people who have difficulties in funding their studies in college. Other form of way to motivate people also can be done, like incentives from government for people who want to learn subjects needed by the government. Still, self motivation is the determining factor.