In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Successful people in their professions must have adequate skills, experiences, and knowledge to answer all questions and solve all problems in their fields. Also, all the skills and experiences can be added or regarded as knowledge that are useful for their career. Many experts from each discipline perform well using every aspect of their knowledge as a tool to overcome difficulties, so, in this stance, knowledge play a definitive and important role for any professional worker. Without sufficient knowledge, these workers could not satisfy the goals of their fields; for example, environmental scientists who are not familiar with newly-found change on clean technology trends can not better solve the global warming issues. Thus, it is logical for anyone in their field to nurture enough knowledge to deliver the best output for their fields / employers.

Knowledge is everything that we know about. They are the facts, data, trends, anything that constitute our understanding toward a specific field of science. This variable acts as the foundation of science, and it is imperative for us to hold enough knowledge even before deciding to enter certain field that we want. People who want to be physical scientists must have enough knowledge in mathematics, physical science, and chemistry. The mathematical expressions need to be garnered to calculate every equations and to find various numbers needed to define the fact or data. Physical science is the basic knowledge that these people must acquire to understand all the basics of the field. Chemistry is needed because this subject can explain structural conditions of the atomic configurations inside any physical object that is being analyzed by the scientists. The more complex the problem, the more knowledge the scientist must understand to solve that problem. For example, you must study the newly-found quantum mechanics to solve questions for any physical component of object with less than one atomic nucleus in size. Other sciences, like humanities and social sciences, also require their experts to have enough knowledge in the fields to be successful in the job.

The knowledge is not only useful as a need for our job but also it acts as a way for us to advance in our career and to get a promotion. People in workforce can be devided into 2 types; they are generalists and specialists. The generalists should broaden their knowledge to become a manager or director of a company. The workers who come from supply chain area must learn and understand other area of fields, like finance or human resources, to aspire to become a next generation of leaders in their company. On the other hand, the specialists must deepen their knowledge. Each field of science contains infinite amount of branches, and the scientists must specify the desired branch that they want to focus on. After that, they can start to learn anything until they reach the ultimate point of obscurity within their field. These two cases prove how essential knowledge is, and imagination alone can not fulfill the basic needs for success in the professions.

Knowledge, as discussed before, might act as the main actor behind our success in career. However, imagination does have an important role in career as well, despite not being the foundation of the success. Innovation is important for solving problems or create new technology. By creating such feat, all workers who have great innovation can show that they have additional factor in their career. Nonetheless, the knowledge is still the underlying foundation of our career.