The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Innovation leads to a better life for humanity. Creating such wonderful feat requires combination of factors to change everything that came before into a more advantageous thing. Technology, for example, enables humans achieve many dreams previously deemed as impossible. The creation of innovation requires various ideas that arise from the innovators’ heads, and sometimes it needs unusual way of thinking compared to any popular belief held at that time. The notion that says best idea will come from people who have great passion toward things that are common logically does not match the aforementioned requisite of how we need peculiarity in thinking to generate ideas, thus, creating innovation for all. Skills and experiences alone would not immediately result in a generation of idea, and with a passion in something that is common does not help much at all. People need different perspective and motivation to even start and then develop an idea, and there are some examples and reasons for it.

First, idea tends to change common things into more applicable and useful products. Most people will be bored with routinity and when they face the same difficulty that they are facing every single day. Some of them, who have unique approach of thinking, or at least have a wish of relinquishing the difficulties, will at some point create something that ameliorate the challenges during the time when they use the old method. The will to make life better is inherently nurtured inside all humans, and this motivation will energize people to make a change. If this motivation, combined with adequate skills and experiences, is sufficient to break through the commonplace of the past then an idea will be born. An example of this would be the time when, in the past, people were traveling using traditional method such as riding a horse, driving a horse carriage, or even walking to go one place to another. As time passed, the innovators of the past will start to think “how can we go faster?”, so that they would no longer feel the long journey that was uncomfortable and inconvenient. Thus, the cars were created, and by centuries later, many more advanced transportation, like jet plane or high speed train, are developed. The willingness of improving life will, at last, make people want to change the ordinary everyday conditions that often become unreliable and full of hardships. Ideas will create useful innovations, and if the rejection of what is common is higher, the better idea will be. Best idea does not come from people who love ordinary thing.

On the other hand, one may say that experiences will reveal what is lacking behind that is masked by common jobs or activities. Sometimes people must try to focus to find something that is out of place, or to seek the weakness of the system or processes that are done by the workers. For example, great worker at manufacturing industry will sometimes find a fault within the system that hinder the efficient production or even harm other workers at the production plant. This skill of detection requires tremendous focus to the job, and only people that are keen with the routinity that can reveal the flaw using their great focus and dedication. This skill is one example that can we take from great manufacturing company, like Toyota and Volkswagen, to reveal the other side of this discussion.