The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The budget planner’s view on the condition of Grandview Symphony might tempt people to believe it. The rise in the attendance is a correct way to measure the success of the orchestra. However, the author does not provide detailed data regarding the actual financial condition of the orchestra. The overall budget can still be in deficit despite their success in the summer concert series. Moreover, the author does not specify the trend of their concerts in recent years to make a comparison before claiming a success of their efforts. The author must first prove all the underlying statements which the claim is based.

The annual financial statement of the orchestra is the precise parameter of the financial condition of the organization. The author does not get into this in deep, and we do not know yet whether the organization can survive without the funding from the city. Any international conductor and professional musicians are probably really expensive, and sustaining the attendance rate requires continous supply of adequate payment for these people. Indeed, the conductor brings many benefits to the orchestra. The incoming high-profile guest musicians can bring more viewerships from those who seek the qulity from music. However, the author must be careful because the spending on salaries will definite increased after the conductor and these musicians join the orchestra. If the increasing rate of attendance, which generate money from tickets, is still below the overall spending of the orchestra, then it will be a disaster for Grandview Symphony, especially when the funding from the city stil accounts a significant protion of the total income or source of funding.

The claim of the increasing rate of attendance is surely a relieving information for the organization. More attendance means the income from their tickets also grow, yet the author does not mention the actual rate of this grow in attendance rate. Perhaps, the previous rate was only 10% and it changed to 50%, and there are still more room for improvement for the orchestra. Additionally, if it is true that the rate is still below or near 50%, then people could argue that the effect of the international conductor and the high-profile musicians is not that effective. The author may first analyze the reason, if there is any, on why the orchestra is still in deficit, or the author can analyze first the actual trend of the attendance. Also, if the attendance has already reached 100%, let say, and the orchestra is still in deficit, then it means the conductor and the musicians are too expensive for the orchestra to handle. Many other alternatives can be pursued to maximize income, and inviting costly conductor is not the only option available.

Lastly, the author mentions “private contributions” as one of the recent source of income for the orchestra. No other information is provided, and we are unsure about what kind of contributions are provided by the private organizations. Maybe, the contributions are merely a temporary donation and the private organization may not give the same amount of money in the future. Furthermore, we do not know how significant these contributions are. If they are temporary and they are not significant, then the news will not be that big for all the readers of the notion from author. The best kind of funding from private organizations is sponsorships, especially when there are reliable, lawful, and fixed contract that specify when the sponsorships will end and how much the organizations will donate or pay the money to the orchestra. For now, we are still unsure and the author must define the contributions thoroughly before making the assumption. Many ways can be done to make an orchestra becomes more independent and self-funded. Analyzing the detailed conditions and financial statements of the orchestra will be helpful for author to make the right decision for the organization.