The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advancement of technology and science enables people to live comfortably and with much more ease compared to the condition of life centuries ago. These convenience in form of the products of scientific progress may give some negative effects to most of people. On the other hand, the progression of technology opens up many new opportunities for many people that previously can not acquire. Strong and independent individuals can be defined as people who are self-reliant and those who know what they need, and they can fulfill those needs independently. Using recently available amenities have been giving more positive impacts for humans’ growth than the negative impacts that they might inflict to the humans.

The success of most people require resources for learning and developing their skills to increase their chance of persistence in career, and their chance of survival in the growingly competitive world. The information and communication technology provide the access for people to learn many new skills easily and they create more room for nurturing the abilities that are needed in their work or their survival in general. Century ago, people were far away from the source of information; they need to go to the nearest public library, or they can only rely on widely published materials like newspapers for learning and studying. Contrastly, people in this era can easily gain acces to the information they need using the internet. Also, sharing information among many people is also widely available, so people in remote or less developed area also can study and get information as long as there can connect to the internet. This learning opportunity will make people’s life easier, and their chance of survival can increase dramatically. The data that supports this stance is the fact that in a more developed nations, the reliance of one person to other productive people is lower due to lower unemployment rate. The success in the career is the basic way to survive and fulfill the needs, and the more people have the access to the success by learning, the more likely they will live more independently. Unless we take the already old population who can no longer work, the high employment rate can be designated as a parameter of people’s independence in life.

The effect of access toward a broad information and knowledge give people opportunity to learn many basic skills using the same convenient method, the internet. While years ago people will face difficulty to learn how to cook or how to repair their homes, now they can learn it from the internet. Furthermore, using these widely available basic skills can be a chance for the people to have additional income. People who are interested in cooking may learn to improve their cooking skills so they can open culinary business near their homes. When people previously need specialists to repair some appliances at home, now they can repair them using the instructions from the internet. Another convenience that also can help people to sustain their life is the access toward healthcare system. Nowadays, people can contact the doctors easily using online applications, and the ease of communication makes the chance of survival from accidents much higher than before. All the conveniences in form of technology are not a bad things for people’s life, they can learn more and have a more secure life so they can potentially grow.

On the other hand, the technology may cause some negative sides to the people, mainly the laziness of people that can hinder their growth. At the past, people will be more hard working because they need to do so to survive; for example, they must study at the public library that could be far away from their place, and they must commute earlier to their job due to a more backward transportation technology at that time. Now, people can just access everything using the phone, and sometimes it drives people to become lazy or do something unlawful like cheating. Nonetheless, the positive sides compensate this negative probability.