Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The extant of climate change has been growingly devastating toward all aspects of our life in this century. Moreover, many scientists believe that with the current rate of global temperature increase and the devastation of the natural habitat, mainly toward annihilation of the trees as a major component of our ecosystem, we can not reverse the damage using the degree of efforts that we have provided so far. The earth has reached its critical point where the natural ecosystem itself can no longer tolerate the pollution and physical destructions, so we need a much greater effort than what we do right now. The statement of the importance of natural protection law in the future is one of the effective measure to enhance our effort in combating the climate change. Indeed, there will be some implications if we want to implement that kind of law in the long run.

Currently, the deforestation in our forest has reached a rather alarming speed, and with the acceleration of repurposing of the forests into economical objects, like the fields for agriculture or open-pit mining sites, we will lose the majority of the earth’s “lung” capacity and the impact will be severe for our future. The temperature will increase more dramatically, the sea level will rise further, and, in return, the economic cost of the devastations will be unbearable for our descendants. Imposing the law on the wilderness protection can stop the deforestation, or, at least, it will impede the commercialization activites on our forests. All nations’ governments must find a way to protect the natural ecosystem while they manage to continue economical activities within their respective jurisdictions. Another way to harness the resource from the forests can still be done; for example, the manufacturing of papers and other wood-based products can take the trees from any legal industrial forest, or the scientists can produce an alternative material to replace woods. By the time this law is implemented, the government has the opportunity to reassess the condition of all the forests. They will be forced to think innovatively to make sure that all industries’ needs can be fulfilled by using alternative methods or materials, and this probability is great for the advancement in our technology. Furthermore, the environmental activists and organizations will have time to replenish our forests and return them to the initial condition when the forests’ capacity can take the burden of all the humans’ emissions.

Likewise, the animals and plants species also play many important role in humans life, so protecting them is the best way to protect our future from unwanted consequences of the natural destructions. Industrial activities on unproper forested lands will decrease the living area of the animals and plants. Sometimes, some of these creatures can not withstand the change and they will begin to disappear. Consequently, the balance of the ecosystem is disrupted, and it will cause grave danger to the people around the initially forested lands. For instance, disease will appear when the animals that spread the disease are increasing in number due to the decline of their predators. Another possible impact of destruction of forest is the wild animals can come to the villages near the deforested lands and they can cause harm to the people. These unwanted impacts should definitely be prevented by imposing the strict wilderness protection law so we can maintain the equilibrium of the natural ecosystem. We will avoid further spending in solving the impacts rather than preventing them in the first place.

Economical activities are still important to lift many people out of the poverty line, yet we can no longer compromise the earth to fulfill this needs. We must find other solution to replace the sourcings of our economical activities, from the forests, to other materials or technologies. A century ago, we might think that the earth can still bear the pollution and damages that we inflict upon the earth. However, now we must change before it is too late.