Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

This policy about passing laws to preserve nations’ remaining wilderness areas is, in my opinion, too general. Now more than ever, pollution and climate changes are our paramount issues and a policy like this would for sure help our current situation. It is for this reason that I strongly agree with it, but just partly. Here is why.

First, it is necessary to specify which nations should pass these laws. Throughout our globe, different nations are experiencing different situations: while most of the western countries are mostly developed and economically stable, there are many countries in continents such as Africa, Asia and eastern Europe which are going through tough times. While global warming and pollution are problems which concern every country, there could be some nations in which the latter are not the priority.

Thus, implementing this policy could exacerbate some nations going through an economic crisis because of the economic gain they would lose in preserving wilderness areas. Even though developing those wilderness areas would worsen the overall quality of air and life (since it will increase pollution), the economic advantages will represent a more important aspect and will make rescinding this policy worth it. That is why I think that not all of the nations should pass these laws.

On the other hand, I believe that all countries which are not undergoing any kind of crisis, and for which it is not essential to have economical gains from wilderness areas, should pass the already mentioned laws.

Our current situation regarding pollution and temperature raises due to global warming is getting worse exponentially. The more developed a nation becomes, the more it will pollute. Based on scientific studies, the temperature of Earth’s atmosphere is rising of 1 celsius degree every two to three years. If the majority of countries would pass this policy then improvements will be finally tangible: the preserved wilderness areas will consume CO2 and release more oxygen in the atmosphere, contributing in making the Ozone hole smaller and eventually stopping global warming.

In conclusion, I would say that all nations that are not in financial need should be require to preserve the remaining wilderness areas, thus trying to improve our current pollution issues. Nevertheless, for some states undergoing conflicts, political instabilities and financial crises, the economical gain coming from the above mentioned areas would be more important than the environmental benefits.