Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument discusses whether a diet rich in dairy products can have any effects on the prevention of osteoporosis. After describing the outcome of a long-term study of a large number of people, the author jumps to a conclusion without being supported by sufficient evidence.

In the last sentence in fact, it is claimed that since people from the long-term study who consistently consumed diaries showed a higher rate of bone fractures, then a diet rich in dairy products increases risks of osteoporosis. However, this implication is based on assumptions not sufficiently bolstered.

Firstly, there could be many reasons why the above mentioned people would have had more bone fractures, and none of them might be related to the dairy diet! Bone fractures can be caused by accidental traumas in everyday life, such as falls, bumps and injuries. A diet rich in dairies has nothing to do with any of these possible causes, thus weakening the author’s claim.

Secondly, there is no written information about the health records of the people who participated in the long-term study. Since it is specifically stated that the disease in question is linked to genetic factors, knowing whether the families of the participants had cases of osteoporosis could be a crucial factor in the study. If the majority of people who showed the higher rate of bone fractures had relatives who suffered from this disease, then it would show a probable explanation of those high rates, highlighting the flaws of the argument.

Furthermore, the author does not provide any information about the provenience of the participants. As it is mentioned in the argument, osteoporosis also depends on environmental factors, which could be related to where people live or used to live. If people who reported higher rates of bone fractures used to live in the same region, or in the same environmental conditions, then another plausible explanation for the higher rates would have been found.

In conclusion, the argument proposed by the author is considerably flawed because of its lack of enough evidence and its reliance on unwarranted assumptions.