It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Throughout history, societies were always able to identify someone as their “hero”, based on the beliefs and actions he or she pursued during his/her life. However, the author claims that nowadays it is no longer possible to regard someone as an hero. Based on the reasons I am going to explain, I do not agree with the author since I believe that it is possible to find heroes in our society.

First, it is essential to analyze why societies have always felt the need to find a hero, and furthermore why they were always able to find one. Cultures and societies living in different times might have experienced different issues and political or social crises. Let’s think of the abolishing of racism in the United States or in South Africa, World War II and the persecution of Jewish, or the liberation of Italy from foreign enemies which lead to the unification. Even if these events are very different from one another, they all share the common need of a hero, a person who fights for and believes firmly in changes to ameliorate his/her society status.

Since our society is going through some issues just as it happened throughout history, it is wrong to say that nowadays it is impossible to identify a hero.

For example, let’s analyze one of the most worrying issues we’re facing in the last years: global warming and environmental pollution. It might not represent a real war just like the ones cited above, but it surely gives us the opportunity to identify more than one hero. Greta Thunberg might be the first name that crosses our minds; speaking up to men and women of politics and fighting for a better, and less polluted, future surely makes her a hero.

On the other hand, it is true that nowadays heroes might differ from the one of the pasts: if we think of people like Lincoln, Martin Luther King Jr., Gandhi etc. it is really hard to find someone else who could be regarded in the same way as theirs.

Nonetheless, I believe that what makes someone a hero is the determination and the extent to which he or she fights and speaks up for what he or she believes. Every generation has and will have its particular issues, and thus it will always have the chance to regard someone as its hero.