The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument’s biggest weakness is represented by the various assumptions on which it is based. Some specific evidence related to the above mentioned assumptions could surely strengthen it. Let’s understand why.

At first, the committee assumes that since last year’s birthrate was half that of five years ago, the number of students enrolled in Calatrava’s public schools will decrease.

If the committee had a more specific analysis on the rate of birthrate decrease in the past five years, then it would have been more reasonable to draw conclusion on whether less students will attend schools. In fact, knowing the birthrate of last year and comparing it to the five years old one does not give us an insight on the rate of decrease! It could have happened that five years ago the birthrate had been the highest ever registered. If that were to be the case, then it would make little sense to compare last year birthrate to the latter when judging its decline. A detailed research on the decreasing rate would help us understand more about how less students are going to enroll in schools.

Moreover, even if the decline stated in the argument was true, we can not pretend to draw such conclusions on the number of students who will attend public schools. It is certainly true that fewer births will result in fewer students, but whether they will attend public or private schools is not possible to deduce. A survey showing that the majority of parents will opt for sending their newborns to public schools will surely strengthen this assumption.

Also, a research showing that only a small percentage of students tend to enroll in private schools would have explained more the conclusion made by the committee.

In the last sentence of the argument it is stated that an increase in the adult population is expected. This conclusion is based on more than one assumptions: first, how does a decrease in birthrates increases the adult population? Fewer children would rise the percentage of adults in town, but not its actual number. Furthermore, having a smaller number of births means that fewer teenagers will turn into adults, in so opposing what it is stated in the passage. Also, the committee does not consider the chance of future adults to leave the city and seek better life in other states or countries.

In my opinion this conclusion is the weakest part of the argument and can hardly be strengthen by any evidence.