The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article, Dr. Karp states that his recent interviews with the children living in the village are enough to prove that other conclusions originally made by Dr. Field were wrong and even more so that the approach he used was invalid as well. The truth is that this argument needs much more evidence to be fully motivated.

For instance, even though in his interviews the children talk more about their parents rather than the other adults in the village does not show in any way that children are not raised by the entire village. We do not know what questions were asked to the children, and in which circumstances the children mentioned their parents rather than other adults. For example, children could sleep and eat with their parents, but then spend most of their time with other adults who are specialized in some specific role. Probably, living in a village requires the children to learn as much abilities and skills as possible, and being reared by different adults, who have had different experiences and different knowledge in their lives could be much more helpful. A greater insight on which questions were asked and in which cases the children mentioned their parents would much more strengthen Dr. Karp’s argument. Based on the little information reported in the article though, it is clear that the proof of Dr. Fiels’s invalid conclusion has no evidence nor significance.

Secondly, Dr. Karps states that having “proved” that Dr Field’s conclusion was wrong also proves that the observation-centered approach is invalid. Let’s now suppose that Dr Field’s conclusion was wrong and that the interviews with the children proved that they are not actually reared by the village. Even if that was the case, it would be wrong to conclude that the approach used by Dr Field was invalid. While interviews mostly depend on the interviewer questions, and so could be easily influenced, the observation-centered method is much more objective. Observing the children’s life in the village without contaminating it with the presence of strangers can give a much more detailed and objective insight on what goes on in the village life. The interview-centered method can only show what the interviewers want to know, or only what the villagers want to say! Plus, there is the need to take into consideration that children living in a village have never had an interview before and so feelings such as shyness and embarrassment could have easily influenced their answers.

For the reasons I mentioned above, I think that Dr Karps’ statements in his article hide a serious lack of evidence and details about the interviews he has conducted and the method he used, causing the overall article to result very weak.