Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Whether students need to be evaluated with exams and compete for higher grades has always been one of the major concerns regarding our educational system. It is certainly true that tests and grades are necessary in order to distinguish the best students from the others, or just to evaluate the overall quality of education in a school. On the other hand, I feel like the competition that naturally arises from the above cited tests and grades is counterproductive for the students.

Every educational system is based on grades and ranking. While for some countries like the United States this concept of students’ ranking might be overstressed by tools such as GPA, for others, as for example Italy, students are concerned with every year’s final grade without being stressed over a school placing or any kind of rating. As an Italian student who has attended one year in an American high school, I had the chance to experience both educational systems and came to a final conclusion.

While studying in the United States I realized that the majority of students were driven to study mostly just to get higher scores and increase their GPAs. This could then represent a lucid proof that competition for high grades motivates students in doing their best and excelling in the classroom. In my opinion though, the urge of studying just to get good grades comes in great contrast with the real goal of schools: learning.

I believe that students should enjoy studying for what the latter can give to them. Exploring new concepts, enlarging our knowledge, discovering curiosities about our world... These are the real objectives students should keep in mind while studying. Competition among students and moreover the fear of not reaching the highest grades of the class drive the students away from the real meaning of studying and learning.

In conclusion, I would say that it is possible for some students to use this competition for higher grades as a way to improve and do better. It is also true that classifying students in ranks is essential for our educational systems. On the other hand, I think that for the majority of students it is just a distraction from the true meaning of learning, and that tends to overcome the positive sides about studying with anxiety and stress for not being the excellence.