Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the consumption of milk and dairy products may increase the risk of osteoporosis based on the long-term, large-scale study. The argument needs various pieces of evidence that could substantiate the author’s conclusion.

Before we assess the author’s conclusion based on the study, we can also look at the prior claim (by many) that dairy products prevent osteoporosis. This claim rests on the assumption that a) milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium, and b) that vitamin D and calcium could build and maintain bones. So, we would need evidence for example in the form of credible research studies that these assumptions are in fact true. If the assumptions are showed to be false, then the prior claim is not sound.

Second, even if those assumptions are shown to be correct and milk and dairy products do build and maintain bones, this does not mean that they prevent osteoporosis. According to the passage, osteoporosis is caused by environmental and genetic factors, not by bone damage (in fact, bone damage is a symptom of osteoporosis, not the cause). So, the prior claim that milk and dairy products prevent osteoporosis needs to be supported by evidence that clarifies the link between dairy consumption and the environmental and genetic factors that cause osteoporosis.

Moving on to the long-term study on which the author bases their conclusion, the first evidence we need to see is whether other factors were held constant in the study. The study shows that consistent consumption of dairy products correlates with a higher rate of bone fractures. However, we don’t know whether the higher rate of bone fractures was just a coincidence and caused by other factors, or if it’s caused by the consumption of dairy. In order to establish a causal relation, we need more information on the other factors in the study, for example the age of participants, gender, lifestyle, career, etc. For example, a boxer would have a higher chance of bone fractures, or a woman after her period, or an elderly person.

But an even more significant flaw in the study is that it is concluding that the higher rate of bone fractures (claimed to be caused by dairy consumption) is synonymous with occurrence of osteoporosis. Just because osteoporosis causes bone fractures doesn’t mean that all bone fractures are the result of osteoporosis. In order to conclude that dairy consumption is correlated with higher rate of osteoporosis, the authors of the study would need to measure the occurrence of osteoporosis directly and not use bone fracture rate as a proxy.

Lastly, the study draws a clear distinction between those who consistently consumed dairy products with higher bone fractures and “other participants” who have lower bone fractures. Evidence is needed here to support this distinction. For example, we do not know whether those “other participants” also consumed dairy products, though maybe in a smaller amount and less consistent way. If we found evidence that showed that there is a significant difference in the rate of dairy consumption in the dairy group and the other group, this would strengthen the conclusion of the study.

In conclusion, there is a lack of evidence showing the link between dairy products and vitamin D and calcium, dairy products and osteoporosis. Therefore, the author’s conclusion is unfounded.