The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life cause people to become weak and dependent is an interesting idea to discuss. I mostly disagree with the statement. As it will become apparent in this essay, I will explain details about my position on this issue.

To begin with, time is the greatest luxury. All of the conveniences in my life allow me to have more time to devote to my work. Technology allows me to save time. For example, washing machines can save my time. Instead of washing by hand, I can simply put clothes in the machines. While the machine is working, I can perform other tasks, such as reading books or checking my students’ homework. Another example is a smartphone, such as an iPhone. It is luxurious and creates many beneficials such as remote working, checking emails, or listening to podcasts. Therefore, technology can save my time and allow me to become more productive. However, technology can also become inconvenient. To illustrate, I cannot leave home without my smartphone because of my job. I need my smartphone for arranging and confirming my teaching schedules. Hence, I am obliged to respond when the school contacts me, and, in this manner, the luxuries and conveniences of temporary life do diminish my independence. Nevertheless, the dependency on technology does not prove that it causes people to become weak individuals.

Secondly, the ideas of luxuries and conveniences are subjectives. For instance, an elevator for a two-story house may be considered as luxury, but it becomes necessary if people in the house got injured and could not walk. This means that people are not necessarily weak or dependent because they rely on the elevator when people get injured or could not walk. Moreover, traveling by private jet may be seen as an extravagantly luxurious and convenient lifestyle, but in certain situations it might seem necessary. For example, popular Korean idols may have stalkers, who follow them almost everywhere, may need a private jet while traveling for overseas concerts due to safety reasons. Therefore, it is equivocal to say that luxuries and conveniences can hinder people from developing into strong and independent individuals.

In conclusion, the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life may cause people to become dependent or independent regarding the given circumstances. The perception of what constitutes a luxury or a convenience is also subjective. On that account, it is hard to pinpoint whether the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing themselves into strong and independent individuals.