A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Some health experts predict that Mentia residents will suffer even fewer headaches in the future by consuming salicylates based on the twenty-year study. However, there are some questions that need to be answered before we can conclude that the prediction of the health experts is sound.

First, the health experts base their prediction on the demographic participants in the twenty-year study. There are two questions needed to be answered before we can conclude the health experts’ prediction is tenable regarding this premise. The first question that needed to be answered is whether the demographics of the participants in the study and the Mentia residents are similar. If the participants are shown to be similar to the Mentia residents, then the health experts’ prediction is sound. However, if the demographics in the study and Mentia’s residents are vastly different, for example young people in the study but Mentia consists of elders, then this could weaken the claim that residents of Mentia will suffer less headaches due to increasing consumption of salicylates in the future.

The second question is based on their prediction on the validity of the twenty-year study. The health experts should ask themselves whether participants consistently report their headaches during the twenty-year period. If participants did, then this could strengthen the claim that consuming salicylates could be used for curing headaches. If not, then the one does not imply the other. However, twenty year is a very long time, so things could have changed. For instance, if people are less willing to report their headaches, then it is likely that there is a reduction of headaches (due to lower reports). Hence, this could weaken the claim that consuming salicylates could alleviate headaches.

Second, the health experts based their predictions of the efficacy of salicylates in treating headaches on the similarity with aspirin, which is a medicine for curing headaches. However, before the health experts make a prediction, they should ask themselves whether members of the same chemical family share the same effects or not. If the experts found solid evidence of the direct effectiveness of salicylates and headaches regardless of aspirin, then increasing the consumption of salicylates would lead to fewer headaches. Therefore, this could strengthen the health experts’ prediction.

Lastly, the health experts also draw their conclusion based on the correlation of the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and the reduction in headaches reported by the participants. It is necessary to ask two questions regarding the correlation. The first question that the experts should ask themselves is whether there are any other external factors that could have a significant impact on the number of reported headaches, such as stress level (since stress level could contribute to headaches). Therefore, if the experts could show that other external factors were held constant, then this could strengthen their claim that increasing salicylates in commercial use would reduce headaches.

Another question that needed to be answered is whether the participants in the study consume any medications that could alleviate headaches or not such as Paracetamol. If the participants took any drugs that are responsible for headaches, then this could weaken the health experts’ argument that increasing consumption of salicylates lead to lower number of reported headaches. If the experts show that there were no other factors that contribute to the reduction in headaches, then this would strengthen the claim that increased salicylates consumption in Mentia would lead to lower headaches on condition that participants did not take any medications that can reduce headaches.

In conclusion, before making the predictions about the health of Mentia residents, the health experts should consider several factors, such as demographics and time period of the twenty-year study, the effectiveness of the chemical family, other external factors, and used medicines, that might influence the accuracy of their predictions.