Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the consumption of milk and dairy products may increase the risk of osteoporosis based on the long-term, large-scale study. The argument needs various pieces of evidence that could substantiate the author’s conclusion.

First, the author’s argument needs evidence showing that milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium. For example, research from prominent scientists could suggest that vitamin D and calcium could build and maintain bones. If the research suggests that vitamin D and calcium could build and maintain bones, then this strengthens the argument.

Second, even if we assume that milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium, we need to know how dairy products interact with environmental and genetic factors that cause osteoporosis. Moreover, “many people” claim that consuming milk and dairy products could prevent osteoporosis. Therefore, we need evidence to show that milk and dairy products relate to the mentioned environmental and genetic factors. If the evidence shows that milk and dairy products do not relate to both environmental and genetic factors and could not prevent osteoporosis, then this could weaken the claim of many people.

Although bone fractures are an osteoporosis symptom, it does not mean that all bone fractures are caused by osteoporosis. We need necessary evidence showing that bone fractures are significantly the signs of osteoporosis. We also need to know whether other factors were held contant in the study. There could be other factors involved, such as lifestyle, gender and age. For example, some careers may have a higher chance of breaking bones such as boxers. Some women may be prone to have weak bones when menstrual periods end. If the new study ruled out both environmental and genetic factors, and found no causal relationship between bone fractures and osteoporosis, then this could weaken the argument that bone fractures are caused by osteoporosis.

Lastly, the author is required to provide evidence that there are significant differences between those who consistently consume dairy products and those who do not. If the other group consumes the same amount of dairy products but at a different rate of consumption and shows no difference in the rate of bone fractures, then this could weaken the argument that those who consistently consumed dairy products would have a higher rate of bone fractures.

In conclusion, there is a lack of evidence showing the link between dairy products and vitamin D and calcium, dairy products and osteoporosis as well as bone fractures and osteoporosis. Therefore, the author’s conclusion is unfounded.