It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The identification of a person through social groups is an important question to ask. I agree with the statement partially, and I will explain details that a person also defines by his or her own personal interests as well.

As a person grows up, there are factors that can shape his or her identification. In the early stage of life, a child can learn social behavior through the process of observational learning. For example, if parents react negatively, a child will learn to react negatively as well. Furthermore, in the school, when a child goes to school, teachers and peers will become the social group that influences and shapes his or her identification. Peer pressure can positively affect a child. For example, a child could try to do new activities in order to get more involved with their friends. However, it could be a negative peer pressure as well. For instance, some teenagers might choose to try smoking when they actually did not want to try. Therefore, a person's identification can be shaped by social groups.

However, I believe that people do not identify themselves through social groups only. There are other personal factors that define them. For instance, if a person decides to be an economic lecturer, it comes from his or her own expertise by taking economic courses in both Bachelor's and Master's degree in economics. A person may also have experiences in tutoring economics for many years. Therefore, the identity of the person does not come from social groups rather than his or her own skills and experiences.

In conclusion, defining a person does not necessarily define via social groups only. It is the personal skills and experiences that could define a person’s identity.