Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument provided in the prompt states that even though milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium, which are important for building and maintaining bones, they are not helpful in treating Osteoporosis. The assertion incorporates several underlying assumption, three of which are mentioned below, which needs to be substantiated with evidence to hold water.

Firstly, the argument states a study which concluded that a large number of people had higher rate of fractures even after consistently consuming milk and dairy products. But, are fracture rates an adequate measure of the strong bones, indirectly low osteoporosis. As stated, the disease can be linked to both environmental and genetic factors which results in weakening of the bones, thus, only underscoring fractures and not considering other symptoms is problematic. This in turn, puts doubt on the validity and meticulousness of the study. There are other symptoms as well, like joint pains, incorrect posture etc. which should also be considered in the study. Thus, until the study is comprehensive enough, and provides evidence for other symptoms, the assertion is not valid.

Secondly, even if we consider the rate of fractures as a valid parameter in determining the health of bones, there is no information provided regarding the activities undertaken by the people under study. If the study undertakes people involved in perilous activities like construction, adventure sports, weight-lifting etc., then if understood that the rate of fracture would be high. Consequently, it incorrect to blame milk and dairy products for these fractures. Therefore, evidence regarding the activities, jobs, hobbies, etc. is required to corroborate the assertion stated in the prompt. Until then, the study is dubious and, the argument fails to justify the claim.

Thirdly, the study does not provide any information regarding the amount of milk and dairy products undertaken, as well as other dietary components consumed, by the people under consideration. Maybe the amount of milk and dairy products consumed was subpar as per the requirement of an individual. Different bodies have different dietary requirements, and the amount of consumption plays and important role in determining the health. Moreover, there is no information regarding the other dietary components. Balanced diet is required for a heathy body, and if a person consuming junk food, while consuming milk and dairy products will gain weight. Consequently, putting more stress on bones and joints. Therefore, evidence regarding the amount of milk and dairy products, and the other components is required to hold the assertion credible.

Conclusively, the argument mentioned in the prompt incorporates many assumptions regarding the study cited, and needs to substantiated to hold true.