Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, people will frequently ask whether we prefer “leaders” over “bosses”. Some argue that leaders are beyond what is boss to be, and this statement proofs the idea of leaders have certain expectations on them from the people whom they direct. These kind of expectations could be worded into multiple nomenclature or definition, and one of them is demand from their team. When one begins to lead, the team must have certain goal and targets that need to be fulfilled although they will take industrious and exacting efforts. This reason, along with several others will definitely agree with the notion that leaders are forged by the demands that are put on their shoulders.

First of all, every team will, almost certainly with no doubt, have definite and time-based goal that need to be reached, and this is the reason why the team exists in the first place. Some teams might have crucial and excruciating vision, yet some others might have comparatively lighter and more doable aim. This goal will further be translated into several indicators of success, in which people in front of the office desk name it as parameters, and all the translations of goal will be demands for the team. Eventually, the leader must take the overall responsibility of the team to do all the tasks. The process of teamworking during the pursuit of the goal will determine the quality of the team and its leader. Excellent leader should be capable in finding every solution to any problem that is encountered along the way, whether the team members’ skill may vary, it is become the core of the art of leadership to bring the team altogether with all its flaws and challenges. On the other hand, people will easily describe “boss” as the one who only rules the team, and he or she would not care about the well-being of the members. Thus, the true leaders will have the advantage of the opportunities to expand their skills, both in managing people and in managing the works and cooperations, and this will nurture the strengths of the leaders to be better. Lastly, if the team could achieve the goal, or at least get the desired result that was expected previously, we could argue with confidence that all the team’s members with their leader must be improving theirselves along the process.

As the quality of the leaders grow, the expectations and trust from other people will also inflate, and this might be a new opportunity for each leader in the future. For example, a true leader of certain team within a company that is successful in significant portion of the tasks that are assigned to the team will plausibly be given another more daunting tasks, or even the leader will be moved to a higher position. Entrusting a leader for a more complex and daunting task, of course, will require much more skills and abilities. Also, a lot of new duties will be done by the team, and the leader now must put cautious attention to a more broader teams, not only the old one but also the other teams or divisions that might be previously obscure for the leader. If the leader in later times can also bring success to his or her team, he or she will be further promoted to a higher position within the organization. This chain-events of a leader’s successful case of journey supports the notion that demands will form leaders. Indeed demands are necessities for a leader to grow, and the future career will also be filled with demands or expectations.

All these demands, however, might not explain certain cases of people who have strong leadership ability since early age. Some people may have excellent leading ability that is supported by their personality and potentials, and not all people will have this opportunity. Nevertheless, whether it is indeed true, still, the potency of leadership of these people will be tested the same way “normal people” as leaders also are tested. In the end, we will see the prevailing best leader as the one that can answer all the challenges and all the expectations, or for this discussion, the demands.