Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

It is critically important that students thrive in all aspects of life as this will portray them a responsible products of their instructors. Personally, I believe that the mandate of education will be fulfilled when teachers impact knowledge such that students can further broaden their horizons with little or no dependence on their instructors. There are two reasons why I feel this way which i will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, showing students the way to self education will enhance further study and as a result, it will take little or no time before they become professionals in thier respective endeavors. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this point. During my first year of study in the university, I was introduced to several interesting courses in Mining Engineering. I found those course very fascinating probably because of the method my lecturers adopted in teaching us. Infact, after the first semester examination, I had no iota of doubt in scoring more than seventy five percent in certain subjects. However, as I progress into higher levels, things became almost frustrating. Most courses were anchored by department faculties who were avid researchers. Their methods of teaching were unlike my first year of study. I took a course particularly in Rock Mechanics which requires fundamental knowledge of FLAC software. After Professor Charles introduced us to the general outline of the subject, I needed no one to persuade me that I have to bolster my understanding of numerical analysis - a course which I undertook during my first year. This was because understanding of numerical analysis would be cardinal to scoring an A in Rock Mechanics. So, I quickly brushed over the course materials and as I was studying, I began to unravel certain complexities which were beyond what I was taught at first. Eventually, I mastered FLAC software well enough that I easily aced Rock Mechanics examination. This would not have been possible if my lecturer had not instructed us in such a way that I needed to study deeper.

Furthermore, teaching people to educate themselves will make them develop a sense of responsibility and become independent. For instance, upon completion of my studies, I got a high paying job to a construction company. My role as an engineer in the company necessitated that I am proficient in using AutoCAD. I never had a prior knowledge of this software. My boss only helped me to install the software. I took up the responsibilities of studying everyday and watching YouTube tutorials to fully understand the use of AutoCAD. By dint of assiduous study and constant practice, I became very proficient in the software such that I could apply the knowledge in building construction. Had my boss satisfied me with every knowledge I needed to learn the skill, I may not have been responsible enough to learn independently.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teaching people to further educate themselves would fulfill the mandatory goal of education. This is because self education will enhance deeper study and give every student a sense of diligence.